Trap Shooting: Patriots look to build on fall success

Pequot Lakes Trap Shooting


The Pequot Lakes Patriots boys and girls trap shooting teams have a new head coach this season in Scott Larson, who will be assisted by Jason Johnson, Tom Smith and Matt Fabian Sr.

“We had a fantastic fall target season and hope to carry that momentum into the spring season,” said Larson.

Last spring’s season was cancelled due to COVID-19. Returning letterwinners from the 2019 squad were Cooper Johnson, Bryce Fabian, Jessica Fabian, Annika Wizcek and Maddie Pettit. Others who could contribute are Avery Larson, Jonah Lundgren, Mitchell Morrison, Grant Thompson, Chase Larson and Alaina Kinney.

More than 330 high school teams featuring over 8,300 student athletes are expected for the 2021 Trap Shooting Championship, June 14-22, at the Alexandria Shooting Park.

Each team is assigned a tournament day as determined by their class and conference designation. This allows all teams to complete their competition (novice, junior varsity, and varsity) on a single day while allowing competition among teams with a similar team size.


This championship is the qualifying for the Minnesota State High School League’s state tournament, which is Friday, June 25, at the Minneapolis Gun Club in Prior Lake.

What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads