The Pine River-Backus Tigers boys' track and field team is hoping that having a roster of 22 varsity athletes, including 12 letterwinners, will help them score more points by filling most events this spring.

"We return a state qualifier in senior Nate Wosmek," said PR-B coach Tom Demars. "Nate advanced to state in the 110-meter hurdles, and will be counted on this spring to score points in the 300 hurdles, high jump and a relay."

Other letterwinners include: seniors Austin Beavers and Tyler Peterson; juniors Caleb Travis, Louis Bueckers and Isaac Krecklau; sophomores Kyosuke Marcum, Nathan Nelson, Tyler Gravelle and Kade Schneider; and freshmen Connor Tulenchik and Finnegan O'Dell.

O'Dell (pole vault), Krecklau (1,600 run) and Marcum (triple jump) were section qualifiers.

Others who could contribute are juniors Cody Linn and Jake Poehler; sophomores Chase Hoppe and Logan Carlson; freshmen Robert Bueckers, Jake Mills, Caleb Ruhl and Jordan Tisdell; and eighth graders Burke Netland, Jacob Schnoor and Brady Ruhl.

Last year as a junior, Wosmek finished third in the 110-meter hurdles at the Section 6A meet, but qualified for state by standard with a time of 15.54 seconds.

Naomi Horn and Justin Franke are assistant coaches.

Girls' track

PR-B coach Tim Ramler's squad returns 11 letterwinners this season, including seniors Annie Downie, Emma Templeton and Gabby Rainwater.

Other letterwinners are junior Sidney Lodge; ninth graders Lauren Peterson, Clair Dahl and Anna Sechser; and eighth graders Ashlee Crawford, Joselin Sexton and Sophia Delong.

Last season, Lodge (3,200 run and triple jump), Rainwater (discus) and the 4x800 relay of Lodge, Templeton, Claire Dahl and Sechser were section finalists.

Others who could contribute are Alaua Dahl, Maegan Irish and Averie Sawyer.

Dan Determan / Echo Journal

The 2019 PR-B track and field team. Front row, from left: Miranda Altepeter, Ashley Crawford, Hannah Gordon, Maegan Irish, Abby Blunston, Joselin Sexton, Alaura Dahl, Claire Dahl, Sidney Lodge, Burke Netland, Nathan Nations and Brady Ruhl. Middle row: Lydia Crawford, Averie Sawyer, Lauren Peterson, Sophia DeLong, Anna Sechser, Kyosuke Marcum, Jordan Tisdell, Isaac Krecklau, Gabby Rainwater, Logan Carlson, Jake Poehler, Nathan Nelson, Jacob Schnoor and Tyler Gravelle. Back row: DeLanee Crawford, Rausie Cummings, Kate Gravelle, Destiny Rice, Anna Downie, Emma Templeton, Caleb Travis, Lewis Bueckers, Nathaniel Wosmek, Chase Hoppe, Kade Schneider, Marcus Lukanen, Tyler Peterson and Austin Beavers. Not pictured: Cody Linn, Robert Bueckers, Jake Mills, Caleb Ruhl, Connor Tulenchik and Finnegan O'Dell.