Five Patriot athletes earned "Most Valuable" awards at the track and field teams' year-end banquet on Monday, June 11.

The banquet took place two days after the girls team finished third at the state tournament and Reid Pierzinski won the boys team title single-handedly.

"What happened down at the state track meet this year has only happened twice (before)," boys coach Dave Guenther said. "This is the first time in history a male athlete has done it ... It couldn't have happened to a nicer person."

Pierzinski earned the boys track MVP for the Patriots, while senior pole vaulter Addisuone Harrington was named the team's field MVP.

Grace McGuire was named track MVP for the girls team, while Adelaide Hubbard and Desera Engholm earned co-most valuable honors in field events.

"I think, on the girls' side specifically, this is maybe the deepest team I have ever been a part of in any sport," girls coach Jamie Wagner said. "That's kind of crazy to think about, because there is only about 20 of you. We are so incredibly talented ... and we have depth everywhere on the track."

Most improved honors went to Jacob Faacks and Cassidy Chaney, while Lydia Hubbard and Ethan Johnson earned rookie of the year awards.

The final team award - the Patriot Award - went to Pierzinski and Kristin Skog.

The Patriots had 10 all-state athletes in 2018: Pierzinski, Cassidy Chaney, Carly Chaney, Engholm, Mirjana Ganley, Lydia Hubbard, Adelaide Hubbard, Britt Kratochvil, McGuire and Skog. Nine of those athletes were also named all-conference, as were Ellie Flaws, Kenzie Lampi and Carter Sjoblad.

"I just want you guys to know that this isn't the norm for a school our size," Guenther said.

The girls team also had 10 athletes named to the Academic All-State team, with the team averaging a GPA of 3.917.

Pierzinski and Adelaide Hubbard were nominees for Mr. and Mrs. Minnesota Track and Field, and Pierzinski has been nominated for Gatorade Player of the Year for Minnesota boys track and field, the winner of which will be announced on Thursday, June 21.

Additionally, assistant coach Jeff Brever was named conference assistant coach of the year.