Weather Forecast


Frozen Four is set after Ohio State upsets Denver

The 2018 NCAA Frozen Four at St. Paul's Xcel Energy will look a lot like the 2011 NCAA Frozen Four at the Xcel Energy Center.

Three of the four teams are exactly the same as the last time the Minnesota Wild's home building hosted the event—Minnesota Duluth, Notre Dame and Michigan.

The fourth team is Ohio State, which stunned defending national champion Denver 5-1 in the NCAA Midwest Regional in Allentown, Pa., on Sunday night, March 25.

The Big Ten, which did not have a single Frozen Four representative outside of the referees in the last three years, will make up three-fourths of this year's event.

Minnesota Duluth will take on Ohio State in one semifinal, while Michigan plays Notre Dame in the other.

The Bulldogs beat Michigan in the championship in the 2011 Frozen Four in St. Paul.

Ohio State 5, Denver 1

Ohio State shut down Denver's Big Three—Henrik Borgstrom, Troy Terry and Dylan Gambrell—en route to winning the regional final in impressive fashion.

Senior Kevin Miller scored a pair of goals for Ohio State, which never trailed.

The Buckeyes built a 2-0 lead in the second period and made it a 3-0 lead on a Matt Joyaux tally at 9:27 of the third period.

Denver was attempting to become college hockey's first back-to-back champions since the Pioneers did it in 2004 and 2005.

Michigan 6, Boston University 3

Jake Slaker broke a 3-3 tie with 13:33 to go in third period to lift Michigan to its first Frozen Four since 2011, when it was in St. Paul.

Nicholas Boka followed Slaker's goal with a tally on a rush and Nick Pastujov iced it with an empty-netter.

Michigan will head to the Frozen Four in Mel Pearson's first season as head coach. Pearson is the first coach in NCAA history to lead two different teams to the NCAA tournament in consecutive seasons. He led Michigan Tech to the tournament last season.

Former coach Red Berenson was in Worcester, Mass., watching the regional final with former longtime Boston University coach Jack Parker.

Brad Elliott Schlossman

Schlossman is in his 14th year covering college hockey for the Herald. In 2016 and 2018, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. He also was the NCHC's inaugural Media Excellence Award winner in 2018. Schlossman has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees.

(701) 780-1129