Football: Magnuson district player of year

Pequot Lakes football

052621.PEJ.PLFootballBanquet2 - copy.jpg
Pequot Lakes receiver Alex Morgan, flanked by fellow co-captains Bode Magnuson and Hunter Nybakken, addresses his teammates and the fans in attendance at the Patriot football team's banquet Sunday, May 16. Dan Determan / Echo Journal

In the Pequot Lakes football team’s banquet on Sunday, May 16, coaches revealed that senior quarterback Bode Magnuson was named the Midwest Red District Player of the Year.

Magnuson was also named the district quarterback of the year and earned academic all-state honors, and we was the district nominee for the the Mr. Football State award. He - along with Carter Sjoblad, Hunter Nybakken and Alex Morgan - earned all district honors, while Tyler Hidde, Logan Hill and Landon Roy were honorable mentions.

For team-specific awards - which were voted on by the team - Magnuson was named offensive back and special teams player of the year. Nybakken was named linebacker of the year and Sjoblad was defensive back of the year. Hidde earned offensive lineman of the year honors, while Riley Peters won the award on the defensive end.

Ryan Monahan was named receiver of the year.

The most improved player awards went to Ryan Harmala on offense and Elijah Thell on defense.


The co-recipients of the Patriot Football Pride award were Morgan and Will Larson.

As a team, the Patriots were selected for the Academic All-State Team Award in the Gold Standard, which requires a team GPA of at least 3.26)

Dan Determan has been a reporter for the Echo Journal since 2014, primarily covering sports at Pequot Lakes and Pine River-Backus
What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads