ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Blizzard sweeps North Stars

The Alexandria Blizzard swept a weekend series against the Breezy Point North Stars in North American3 junior hockey action. At Alexandria Friday, Feb. 22, the North Stars scored first on Cooper Hoheisel's first-period goal. The Blizzard tied it ...

breezy-point-north-stars-logo.jpg

The Alexandria Blizzard swept a weekend series against the Breezy Point North Stars in North American3 junior hockey action.

At Alexandria Friday, Feb. 22, the North Stars scored first on Cooper Hoheisel's first-period goal. The Blizzard tied it 1-1 before the period ended, and then added a pair of goals in the second and third periods. Winning goaltender Kyle Haden had 25 saves while Breezy Point's Lane Fox stopped 37 shots.

At Breezy Point, Saturday, Feb. 23, the North Stars again scored first on Dan Wieber's goal. But the Blizzard rallied for a 2-1 lead after the opening session before adding four goals in the second and two more in the third. Winning goalie Ville Hyttinen turned aside 27 shots while Jacob MacLennan stopped 33 shots.

Alexandria improves to 25-17-0-1 in the West Division standings while Breezy Point drops to 12-28-3-2. The North Stars host a pair of 7:30 p.m. weekend games - Willmar Friday, March 1, and Granite City Saturday, March 2.

What To Read Next
The Loons are scheduled to host Alexandria Thursday, Jan. 26 and Willmar Saturday, Jan. 28 at the Breezy Point Sports Center.
The Loons scored two in the third period to tie the game. The Loons are next scheduled to play Friday and Saturday, Jan. 20-21, at Mason City, Iowa.
The Loons are 10-21-1 overall and are scheduled to play at the Granite City Lumberjacks Friday, Jan. 13 and Saturday, Jan. 14, in St. Cloud.
The Loons now 10-19-1 overall, host the Milwaukee Power Friday and Saturday, Jan. 6-7, in 7:30 p.m. games at the Breezy Point Sports Center.