Weather Forecast


Amateur Baseball: Lastrup wins division title

BUCKMAN—Pete Herman went 3-4 with a double, sacrifice fly, three RBIs and a stolen base for the Lastrup Lakers who took the East Division title with an 8-4 victory over the Buckman Billygoats Saturday in the final game of the regular season.

Buckman entered the final day with a 12-0 record, while Lastrup was 11-1, with their only setback being a 6-5 extra-inning loss to the Billygoats May 6.

The two teams combined won their last 22 games.

Preston Rocheleau got the win in relief for Lastrup. He tossed the final three innings and struck out five. He allowed just two hits and one run and didn't walk a batter. Starter Chad Weiss allowed six hits and three runs while striking out two and walking three in six innings.

Paul Herman finished 2-4 with a double and sacrifice fly for Lastrup and Rocheleau also collected a pair of hits.

Aaron Weber went 2-3 with a home run, double and two RBIs to lead Buckman.

Matt Tautges was 2-4 with a double and Shawn Lanners also hit a two-bagger.

Both Lastrup and Buckman ended the regular season with identical 12-1 records prompting the tiebreaker procedure to go into effect. The first tiebreaker is head-to-head results. The two teams split with each other. The second tiebreaker is division record, and both teams went 7-1 in the East with the losses coming to each other.

The third tiebreaker is runs scored in head-to-head games and that's where Lastrup scored the edge.

Lastrup enters the East Division playoffs as the No. 1 seed and will host the No. 4 Pierz Bulldogs in the first round July 14. Buckman will be the No. 2 seed and will host No. 3 Pierz Brewers.

Winning the regular season title also guarantees the Lakers a spot in the Region 8C Tournament.

Lastrup 8 11 0

Buckman 4 8 4

WP: Preston Rocheleau. LP: Matt Tautges. 2B: L-Paul Herman, Pete Herman;

B-Tautges, Aaron Weber, Shawn Lanners. HR: B-Weber. Division: L 7-1, B

7-1. Overall: L 12-1, B 12-1.

Aitkin 8, Swanville 5

AITKIN—Jeremy Janzen struck out 10 and only walked one batter in a complete-game performance for the Aitkin Steam who won their second game of the day, 8-5, over the Swanville Swans Saturday in a non-division contest.

Sam Peterson and Drew Nordean each doubled and had two hits for Aitkin.

Jack Kuppich finished with three hits and two runs for the Steam who also collected doubles from Jake Lynn and Jake Hyytinen.

Swanville 5 6 0

Aitkin 8 10 0

WP: Jeremy Janzen. LP: Levi Baseman. 2B: A-Sam Peterson, Jake Lynn, Drew

Nordean, Jake Hyytinen; S-Carter Loven. Overall: A 3-8, S 4-9.

Aitkin 12, Cuyuna Range 4

AITKIN - - Jack Kuppich tossed a complete game, struck out 10 and allowed just four hits for the Aitkin Steam in a 12-4 North Division victory over the Cuyuna Range Miners Saturday.

Brian Burman went 2-5 with a three-run double for Aitkin, which scored 10 runs in the bottom of the first. Kuppich, Jake Hyytinen, Jon Blanchette and Caleb Curtis also had two hits apiece for the Steam.

Brady Houle led the Miners with two hits.

Cuyuna 4 4 0

Aitkin 12 10 0

WP: Jack Kuppich. LP: Josh Studinski. 2B: A-Brian Burman. Division: CR

3-5, A 2-5. Overall: CR 3-10, A 2-8.

Randall 9, St. Mathias 4

ST. MATHIAS—The Randall Cubs scored all nine of their runs in the top of the eighth on eight hits and five Devils' errors in a 9-4 non-division win over St. Mathias Saturday.

Alex Zack went 4-5 to lead the Cubs while St. Mathias got multiple hits from Matt Woitalla and Josh Lanners.

Randall 9 14 0

St. Mathias 4 7 5

WP: Derek Poser. LP: Conner Knettel. Overall: SM 1-12, R 7-6.

Sobieski 12, St. Mathias 0

SOBIESKI - - Three Sobieski pitchers combined efforts for the Skis in a seven-inning, one-hit 12-0 win over the St. Mathias Devils Saturday in a non-division game.

Adam Olson was credited with the win after three hitless innings. Tyler Jendro went the first two innings and allowed one hit while Jack Hegarty threw two innings of middle relief.

Sobieski finishes 13-0 and is the only team to go without a regular season loss in the Victory League this year.

Colin Beckman homered and doubled to lead the Skis, while Conner Knettel accounted for the only St. Mathias hit.

St. Mathias 0 1 0 (7 innings)

Sobieski 12 13 0

WP: Adam Olson. LP: Jake Zelinske. 2B: S-Beau Hanowski, Collin Eckman,

Jack Hegarty. HR: S-Eckman.

Brewers 5, Royalton 1

ROYALTON—The Pierz Brewers tallied all five of their runs with two outs in the ninth to rally past Royalton 5-1 Saturday in what was a must-win game for the Riverdogs.

The win gives the Brewers the No. 3 seed in the East Division playoffs.

They will face No. 2 Buckman next weekend, while Royalton's season comes to an end with a 1-12 record.

Pierz got RBI singles from Greg Pohlkamp, Alvin Kimman and Chuck Boser in the ninth and scored two more runs on a Royalton error.

Brian Kiel earned the win for the Brewers tossing 8 ⅓ innings over which he struck out four, allowed three hits and one run.

Brewers 5 6 2

Royalton 1 3 2

WP: Mike Boser. LP: Cole Jendro. Division: P 3-5, R 1-7. Overall: P 3-10,

R 1-12.

Friday's Games

Fort Ripley 10, Nisswa 6

NISSWA - - Ethan Branum tossed five innings in relief to collect the win for the Fort Ripley Rebels who closed out their regular season Friday with a 10-6 victory over the North Division leading Nisswa Lightning.

The win pulls Fort Ripley within a half game of Nisswa which still has a makeup game left against Aitkin.

Nisswa is 10-2 overall, 6-1 in the division while the Rebels finish 10-3, 7-1.

There Rebels pounded out 18 hits against the Lightning led by Nick Jelacie and Jason Sather, who both finished 3-6 with an RBI and two runs.

Rhett Williamson and Brett Kramer each contributed a double and two hits, while Bill Sather, Dustin Littlefield and Brian Skluzacek also had multiple hits.

Drew Boland finished 3-4 with a home run, two RBIs and two runs for Nisswa. Jason Roepke also homered and went 2-4 with a pair of RBIs and Jeremiah Piepkorn finished with two hits.

Fort Ripley 10 18 2

Nisswa 6 10 3

WP: Ethan Barnum. LP: Jason Roepke. 2B: FR-Rhett Williamson, Brett Kramer;

N-Brett Jenkins. HR: N-Roepke, Drew Boland. Division: FR 7-1, N 6-1.

Overall: FR 10-3, N-10-2.

Lastrup 6, Freeport 3

LASTRUP—Brad Meyer pitched six innings and earned the win for the Lastrup Lakers who defeated the Freeport Black Sox in a non-division game Friday.

Freeport 3 6 3

Lastrup 6 10 0

WP: Brad Meyer. LP: TJ Frericks.