Connor Tulenchik and Jake Poehler were voted co-most valuable wrestlers at the PequotLakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew wrestling banquet Tuesday, March 19.

Tulenchik and Poehler also tied for the team lead with 19 falls while Tulenchik finished with the most takedowns.

Other award winners were Owen Carlson, rookie of the year; Caleb Ruhl, most improved; and Harley Large, Jackhammer Award for hardest working and most consistent.

Tulenchik and Poehler also earned All-Mid-State Conference while Large, Keenan Dahl and Josh Pettit were all-conference honorable mention. A total of 27 wrestlers earned varsity letters.

"We had 20 kids touch a varsity mat this season, and 12 of them were freshmen or younger," Road Crew coach Travis Hoffarth said. "We won 18 duals with that many young kids in our lineup, so that makes us pretty excited about the next couple of seasons."

It was the eighth consecutive year that the Road Crew had 15 or more dual victories in a season.

"And we had five guys earn All-Mid-State Conference and 10 were section place winners," Hoffarth said. "We also had Connor Tulenchik qualify for the state tournament, and that makes a huge difference for us going into next year. I'm looking forward to seeing our kids in the weight room this summer and attending the Malecek Wrestling Camp in Wisconsin Dells in late June."

Junior varsity award winners included: Trey Tutchtenhagen and Chance Abraham, most falls with 20; Chance Abraham, most takedowns; and Logan Mejdrich, rookie of the year.