Weather Forecast


Road Crew 7th at memorial tourney - Poehler wins 160 title at season opener

Jake Poehler

Jake Poehler won the 160-pound title to help the Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew wrestling team opened its season by placing seventh at the Dennis Kaatz Memorial tournament on Saturday, Dec. 1, in Wadena. Thief River Falls was first with 213.5 points while the Road Crew finished with 112.

Poehler, who won three matches, claimed a 3-1 decision over Andy Dostal of Badger-Greenbush-Middle River in the championship.

"Jake had a really nice tournament, and it was the first individual title of his varsity career," Road Crew coach Travis Hoffarth said of the junior. "Jake compiled 29 wins last season, so it now comes down to taking the next step, and winning tournament titles is part of that process."

Placing third for the Road Crew were Connor Tulenchik, finishing 3-1 overall at 145 pounds; Keenan Dahl, 2-1 at 182 pounds; and Josh Pettit, 2-1 at 220. Riley Wilson, 2-2 at 106, and Myca Reynolds, 1-2 at 185, both finished fifth.

"The tournament was loaded with talent, as four of the nine teams were ranked or receiving votes in their respected class," Hoffarth said. "It was just nice to hear the first whistle of the season. Now we can start breaking things down and making adjustments. Seeing good talent early in the season, now gives our kids some perspective."

Hoffarth added that he was pleased with the overall effort of his wrestlers.

"We had a few matches slip away and any one of the those could have moved us into sixth place," he said. "We have to work on finishing matches and wrestling with leads. I thought all of our wrestlers did some positive things. We will take this experience and continue to build off of it."

The Road Crew are scheduled to compete at Deer River on Thursday, Dec. 6.

Team scores: 1-Thief River Falls 213.5, 2-LPGE-Browerville 207, 3-Badger-GB-MR 169.5, 4-Brainerd 148.5, 5-Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale 148, 6-United North Central 112.5, 7-Pequot Lakes-Pine River 112, 8-Staples-Motley 99.5, 9-Wadena-Deer Creek 47

Road Crew finish & record:

106: 5-Riley Wilson 2-2

113: 6-Owen Carlson 1-3

120: Caleb Ruhl 0-2

138: Evan Koering 1-3

145: 3-Connor Tulenchik (PL-PR) 3-1

152: Harley Large 0-2

160: 1-Jake Poehler (PL-PR) 3-0

182: 3-Keenan Dahl (PL-PR) 2-1

195: Corbin Knapp 0-3

220: 3-Josh Pettit (PL-PR) 2-1

285: 5-Myca Reynolds (PL-PR) 1-2