The Nisswa Lightning kept their season alive with with a 6-5 victory over Avon - even though they were down 5-1 heading into the ninth inning - on Sunday, July 29.

Avon jumped out to an early 4-0 lead until Nisswa's Jeremiah Piepkorn belted a solo home run in the fourth inning. However, the Lakers responded with another run in the next inning.

In the bottom of the ninth inning, Adam Hardy led off with a base hit, followed by a single from Chris Pederson and Brett Jenkins reaching on an error, which scored Hardy. Drew Boland then singled to load the bases, and Piepkorn walked to bring in another run. Jason Roepke - the starting pitcher who was pulled in the third inning, earned some redemption with a bases-clearing double to give the Lightning a walk-off victory.

Roepke went 2-for-5 with two doubles and three RBIs, while Piepkorn went 1-for-3 with two walks and two RBIs.

Pitching in relief, Scott Sand picked up the win on the mound, striking out five and allowing one run in 6.1 innings of work.

The Lightning move on to the state play-in game, where they will face the Lastrup Lakers in Upsala on Saturday, Aug. 4.

Avon 5 11 3

Nisswa 6 10 1

WP: Scott Sand. LP: Will Kleinschmitt. 2B: N-Jason Roepke (2), Chris Pederson. HR: N-Jeremiah Piepkorn

Buckman 6, Nisswa 2

Mark Kahl struck out eight, didn't walk a batter and allowed just five scattered hits in a complete-game performance to lead the Buckman Billygoats past the Nisswa Lightning 6-2 in Saturday's Region 8C opening-round game.

Buckman scored once in the first and fifth innings, three times in the fifth and once in the ninth. Nisswa plated single runs in the fifth and ninth innings.

Joe Kahl went 2-4 with a home run, sacrifice fly and two RBIs for Buckman.

Lane Girtz was 2-4 with a triple, two RBIs and scored three runs and Aaron Weber also finished 2-4.

Aaron Jenkins belted a lead-off, ninth-inning solo homer for Nisswa. Drew Boland doubled and Jeremiah Piepkorn was the only Lightning player with multiple hits.

Buckman 6 11 1

Nisswa 2 5 3

WP:Mark Kahl. LP: Kevin Smith. 2B: B-Mark Kahl; N-Drew Boland. 3B: B-Lane Girtz. HR: B-Joe Kahl; N-Aaron Jenkins.