Jeremiah Piepkorn went 3-4 with a double and Tory Miller ripped a three-run double for the top-seeded Nisswa Lightning who defeated the No. 4 Aitkin Steam 11-7 in the opening round of the North Division playoffs Friday.

Drew Boland, Aaron Jenkins and Tyler Wittwer also doubled for the Lightning.

Chris Pederson earned the win pitching three plus innings of relief. Miller pitched the final two innings striking out five and allowing one hit to earn a save.

Sam Peterson went 2-4 with a double, home run, and two RBIs to lead Aitkin. Drew Nordean and Jack Kuppich doubled, while finishing 3-4 and 2-4 respectively, and Jake Hyytinen contributed a multiple-hit game.

Aitkin 7 10 1

Nisswa 11 11 2

WP: Chris Pederson. LP: Drew Nordean. 2B: N-Drew Boland, Tory Miller, Jeremiah Piepkorn, Aaron Jenkins, Tyler Wittwer; A-Jack Kuppich, Drew Norden, Sam Peterson. HR: A-Peterson.

Lightning 6, Rebels 3

The Lightning advanced to the North Division Championship with a 6-3 win over the Fort Ripley Rebels on Sunday, July 15.

The Lightning belted three home runs in the game, with Brett Jenkins hitting a two-run shot while Jason Roepke and Adam Hardy each earned a solo shot.

Morgan Shepherd went 4-for-4 at the plate, and Chris Pederson was 3-for-4.

Jenkins also earned the win on the mound, pitch

The Lightning will play the winner of Fort Ripley and Cuyuna Range for the division title on Sunday, July 22.

Fort Ripley 3 7 1

Nisswa 6 15 0

WP: Brett Jenkins. LP: Logan Kalis. 2B: N-Drew Boland. HR: N-Jason Roepke, Adam Hardy, Brett Jenkins..