Patriot Perspective: Pequot Lakes School District honors students and staff

Monthly videos highlight the movers and shakers at the school.


PEQUOT LAKES — The Pequot Lakes School Board is now honoring student and staff accomplishments through a video format every month. The videos are played during regular school board meetings and posted on the district website.

March honorees:

Spelling Bee

  • Pequot Lakes runner-up: William Craig
  • Pequot Lakes champion: Brekkin Glazier
  • Grade 5 champion: Craig
  • Grade 6 champion: Myla Abrams
  • Grade 7 champion: Levi Winkka
  • Grade 8 champion: Paxton Wait-Learned

Student athletes

  • Calia Chaney: Alpine skiing, individual state
  • Lauren Kalberg: Alpine skiing, individual state
  • Emmett Johnson: Alpine skiing, state team
  • Easton Miller: Wrestling, individual state
  • Parker Zutter: Wrestling, individual state, fifth place
  • Josie Harguth: Gymnastics, individual state, balance beam

Regions Honor Band


  • Georgia James
  • James Johnson
  • Betsy Boyda
  • Steve Maschhoff
  • Nicholas Hankins

Robotics team world’s and state qualifier

The Pequot Lakes High School robotics team roster includes: Aaron Barnes, Levi Barnes, Aiden Birch, Dana Hammer, Aron Hushagen, Tyler Hushagen, Chase Jackson, Mason Jackson, Cooper Johnson, Eli Johnson, Hunter Johnson, Teagan Johnson, Avery Larson, Brody Lawrence, Ethan Lundgren, Mitchell Morrison, Michael Neumann, Carter Nolan, Charlie Schiessl, Parker Schott, Jacob Schroeder, Cole Sposito, Lucas Taylor, Cordaye Yetzer and Wolfgang Yetzer.

Coach is Keith Lumley

April honorees:

Varsity girls basketball team

State tournament team: Carly Chaney, Ellie Flaws, Sydnie Wgeishofski, Morgan Eckes, Kaitlyn Geschwill, Maci Martini, Charlee Sullivan, Isabel Larson, Kelsi Martini, Emma Flaws, Aubrey Larsen, Lauren Schultz, Ella Kratochvil, Kessa Eggert, Reese Laposky, Genevieve Birkland, Morgan Dotty, June Ruud, Grace Hoffard and Cassidy Wick.

Coaches: Bret Sergent, Emilee Buell, Scott Ebnet, Haley Pluimer and Brian Lempola.

  • Maci Martini: All State Tournament Team
  • Brian Lempola: Section 7AA Coach of the Year
  • Bret Sergent: Assistant 7AA Coach of the Year

Varsity boys basketball team

State tournament team: Maveric Ackerman, Gus Bolz-Andolshek, Leo Bolz-Andolshek, Sam Clement, Clay Erickson, Ryan Harmala, Jack Hemphill, Gus Hoefs, Gavin Kennen, Alex Kriesel, Nic Kotaska, Grant Loge, Eli Laposky, Cruz Megazzini, Conner Quale, Evin Ruud, Sam Rysavy, River Sommerness, Blake Spiczka, Brayden Spiczka, Alex Stahnke, Karson Thurlow

Rich Spiczka: Section 7AA Coach of the Year

Speech participants


  • State speech entrants: Olivia Armstrong, Steve Maschhoff, Tabitha Kibwaa, Veronica Broskovetz
  • National speech entrants: Maschhoff and Kibwaa

Staff awards

  • Cal Wallin: Distinguished Service Award Minnesota Interscholastic Activities Administrators Association
  • Chuck Deutsch: Section Coach of the Year girls hockey

Teachers of Excellence

  • Kelly Crosby: Elementary art
  • Kyle Spray: Middle school math
  • Megan Johnson: High school English language arts

Kurt Stumpf is Pequot Lakes superintendent.

What To Read Next
Get Local