SUBSCRIBE NOW AND SAVE $1 for 6 months of unlimited news



Pequot Lakes School Board elects new chair for 2022

Susan Mathison-Young to hold that position

Echo Journal file photo, March 2020.

Before interviewing superintendent candidates, the Pequot Lakes School Board conducted its annual reorganizational meeting Monday, Jan. 3, where Susan Mathison-Young was named the board’s new chair.

Mathison-Young replaces board member Kim Bolz-Andolshek, who has served as board chair since 2019.

Derrek Johnson was nominated the board’s vice chair, replacing Curt Johnson. Tracy Wallin retained the position of clerk, while Amy Sjoblad now replaces Mathison-Young as treasurer.

Board salaries and compensation remain unchanged from previous years. Board members will make $250 per month, while the chair will make $350 and the officers will make $300. Members will be given an additional $100 for a full day and $50 for a half day in the event of extra meetings in a month.

Mathison-Young said she believes those salaries have not changed in the decade she has been on the board.


Regular meetings will continue to take place on the third Monday of each month, with work sessions occurring on the first Monday of each month.

The Echo Journal was named the district’s official newspaper while Bremer Bank, Mid-Minnesota Federal Credit Union and PMA were named district depositories.

Board member Dena Moody asked that the board look into local banks to be district depositories, but interim Superintendent Kurt Stumpf recommended the board approve the banks presented, then task district administrators to look into that at a later time.

Each board member was named liaison of at least one organization: Mathison-Young with the Community Education Advisory Council, Bolz-Andolshek for credit review, Sjoblad with the district advisory council, Curt Johnson with the Family Service Collaborative, Moody with the Minnesota State High School League, Derrek Johnson with the Minnesota Rural Education Association and Wallin with both the Minnesota School Board Association and the Paul Bunyan Education Cooperative.

Dan Determan may be reached at 218-855-5879 or Follow him on Facebook and on Twitter at

What to read next
Winners of several competitions that were part of the annual Hackensack event announced.
Following some discussions and disagreements over the maintenance of a shared road, the city of Jenkins and Wilson Township reached an agreement to leave maintenance to the township.
The victim was transported to a Duluth-area hospital. The Sheriff's Office described her condition Sunday night as stable.
Registration due by March 4.