Northern Minnesota Robotics Conference announces all-academic team

Students from Pine River-Backus, Brainerd and Pillager are on the list


The Northern Minnesota Robotics Conference announced its 2021 Conference All-Academic Team, which includes students from Pine River-Backus.

Those honored include:

  • Senior Gavin Wosmek and freshmen Maranda Altepeter, Camryn Good and Alexa Tuchtenhagen, from Pine River-Backus Team 3294, Backwoods Engineers.
  • Seniors Mary Moore and Oliver Schwab and junior Autumn Brainerd, from Brainerd High School Team 2503, Warrior Robotics.
  • Juniors Emma Cullet, Gianna Hart and Alexis Selvaag, sophomores Daniel Bartle, Ryan Beach, Lily Boehland-Gaden, Dillon Cordes, James Feustel and Malory Veith, and freshmen Ezra Hopman and Jayde Jordahl, from Pillager High School Team 8422, Husky Howlers.

The NMRC All-Academic Award program recognizes the academic excellence (based on GPA) of participating high school students in the NMRC. To earn the honors, a student must possess a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher (based on a 4.0 scale) for this current year.
This honor is open to students in grades 9-12. In addition to the GPA requirement, a student must meet all varsity level “lettering” requirements set by their team or school district. Students are able to receive this award on an annual basis.

The conference consists of 29 teams across the northern part of the state along with two teams from North Dakota.

Travis Grimler began work at the Echo Journal Jan. 2 of 2013 while the publication was still split in two as the Pine River Journal and Lake Country Echo. He is a full time reporter/photographer/videographer for the paper and operates primarily out of the northern stretch of the coverage area (Hackensack to Jenkins).
What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads