Nisswa Elementary School fourth-graders earn annual awards

Photo illustration /

Nisswa Elementary School was unable to host its annual fourth-grade graduation event, but the school did award its annual awards to students.

"We are so proud of all of our students and their many accomplishments. For graduation, we made a video honoring these graduates and informing them of the scholarship winners," Principal Molly Raske said in an email. "These students will be so missed, but will always have a piece of our hearts and a home at Nisswa Elementary School."

Twyla Doty Reading Award: Bo Schwartz and Preslee Glynn each received a gift certificate to Turtle Town Books and Gifts.

BlackRidge Bank Excellence in Math Award: Emmit Becher and Sydnet Foss each received a $25 savings bond.

Northway Scholarship Award: Antje Northway and Zohren Ledford each received art supplies.


Erika Rempe Writing Award: Brady Oseland and Layla Jensen each received a copy of "Where the Sidewalk Ends" and $100 to further their writing ability.

Judy Lykins Memorial Scholarship: Autumn Johnson and Ava Lizakowski each received a gift certificate to Rafferty's Pizza for demonstrating extraordinary efforts toward music.

Nancy Vogt is editor of the Pineandlakes Echo Journal, a weekly newspaper that covers eight communities in the Pequot Lakes-Pine River areas - from Nisswa to Hackensack and Pequot Lakes to Crosslake.

She started as editor of the Lake Country Echo in July 2006, and continued in that role when the Lake Country Echo and the Pine River Journal combined in September 2013 to become the Pineandlakes Echo Journal. She worked for the Brainerd Dispatch from 1992-2006 in various roles.

She covers Nisswa, Pequot Lakes, Lake Shore and Crosslake city councils, as well as writes feature stories, news stories and personal columns (Vogt's Notes). She also takes photos at community events.

Contact her at or 218-855-5877 with story ideas or questions. Be sure to leave a voicemail message!
What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads