Miss Nisswa 2015

Lizzy Thurlow will reign as Miss Nisswa this year after being crowned Friday night, Feb. 13, at Lutheran Church of the Cross in Nisswa. Alex Eigen won the First Princess title, and Samantha Hamlin is Second Princess. The six contestants voted Abb...

Miss Nisswa Scholarship Pageant participants were, from left, Abby Schreier, Miss Congeniality; Delaney Kennedy; Alex Eigen, First Princess; Lizzy Thurlow, Miss Nisswa; Samantha Hamlin, Second Princess; and Kristy Peterson. Photo by Nancy Vogt

Lizzy Thurlow will reign as Miss Nisswa this year after being crowned Friday night, Feb. 13, at Lutheran Church of the Cross in Nisswa.

Alex Eigen won the First Princess title, and Samantha Hamlin is Second  Princess. The six contestants voted Abby Schreier as Miss Congeniality. Also competing were Delaney Kennedy and Kristy Peterson.

Thurlow, who also was the Outstanding Essay and Outstanding Personal Interview winner, is the daughter of Mimi and the late Scott “Mike” Thurlow of Nisswa. She is a senior at Brainerd High School (BHS).

Having competed in pageants previously, Thurlow was Miss Central Lakes Outstanding Teen 2013 and Miss Northern Lakes Outstanding Teen 2014 (both affiliated with the Miss America System).

“It’s an amazing feeling just being able to represent not only my hometown but even the surrounding area,” Thurlow said after the pageant. “It’s an unforgettable experience. I know my father would be really proud of me.”


Also seniors at BHS, Eigen is the daughter of Dan and Shelley Eigen of Lake Shore; Hamlin is the daughter of Tom and Shelly Hamlin of Nisswa; and Schreier is the daughter of Tom and Amy Schreier of rural Brainerd. 

Kennedy, a BHS senior, is the daughter of Mike and Mollie Kennedy of Nisswa; and Peterson, a Pequot Lakes High School senior, is the daughter of Craig and Karen Peterson of Nisswa.

Thurlow, Eigen, Schreier and Kennedy attended Nisswa Elementary School together.

As Miss Nisswa, Thurlow won a $2,500 scholarship. She also will receive $250 as the essay winner and $250 as the interview winner.

Eigen will receive a $1,500 scholarship as First Princess. Hamlin earned a $1,000 scholarship as Second Princess, and Schreier will receive $300 as Miss Congeniality.

The Miss Nisswa competition included the personal essay and interview, which were completed before the pageant. At the pageant, contestants modeled casual wear and evening gowns, and each answered an impromptu question.

Nisswa Elementary School second-grader Isabelle Smith is Little Miss Nisswa 2015. She was among 13 participants in the 24th annual Little Miss Nisswa Program. Others were Kristy Moore, Isabelle Plante, Liz Meagher, Olivia Winter, Nora Behr, Olivia Wipper, Taya Turcotte, Lily Nickel, Autumn Schiller, Tori Waln, Caylea Horak and Nakia Paulson.

Passing on their titles were Miss Nisswa 2014 Ellie Erholtz and Little Miss Nisswa 2014 Ella Kratochvil.


Senior escorts were Jon Bocklund, Gannon Raguse and Oliver Erholtz. Nisswa second-graders Drew Cline and Nicholas Wheeler were Little Miss Nisswa escorts.

Stacey Waidelich, a member of the pageant sponsor Nisswa Women of Today, was mistress of ceremonies. The theme of the 43rd annual pageant was It’s Your Time to Shine.

Macy Dotty and Abbey Mumm choreographed the LIttle Miss Nisswa dance, and siblings Elise and Adison Runberg, both PLHS graduates, provided musical entertainment. Steve Anderson provided piano accompaniment.

Related Topics: NISSWA
Nancy Vogt is editor of the Pineandlakes Echo Journal, a weekly newspaper that covers eight communities in the Pequot Lakes-Pine River areas - from Nisswa to Hackensack and Pequot Lakes to Crosslake.

She started as editor of the Lake Country Echo in July 2006, and continued in that role when the Lake Country Echo and the Pine River Journal combined in September 2013 to become the Pineandlakes Echo Journal. She worked for the Brainerd Dispatch from 1992-2006 in various roles.

She covers Nisswa, Pequot Lakes, Lake Shore and Crosslake city councils, as well as writes feature stories, news stories and personal columns (Vogt's Notes). She also takes photos at community events.

Contact her at or 218-855-5877 with story ideas or questions. Be sure to leave a voicemail message!
What To Read Next
Inmates in-custody in the Todd County jail in Long Prairie, Minnesota
Inmates in-custody in the Wadena County jail in Wadena, Minnesota
25 Pine River-Backus students are participating in this year's program
Inmates in-custody in the Aitkin County jail in Aitkin, Minnesota