Pequot Lakes speech team places second at subsections

Individuals advance to Section meet

PL Speech team shown at SubSections
The Pequot Lakes speech team includes: front row from left, Emma Hines, Ryan Fritz, Alex Prather, Steve Maschhoff, Olivia Armstrong and Emma Johnson; middle row, Avery Larson, Tabitha Kibwaa, Veronica Broskovetz, Zoe Huber, Madeleine Hoag and Teagan Johnson; back row, Sonja Palmer, Emma Wolf, Hunter Johnson and Tyler Hushagen.

PEQUOT LAKES — The Pequot Lakes High School speech team finished second at the Subsection 6A Tournament on Saturday, April 2.

Placing for the Patriots and advancing to Sections were:

  • Discussion: Veronica Broskovetz, first; Hunter Johnson, second; Tyler Hushagen, fourth; Alex Prather, fifth. 
  • Drama: Tabitha Kibwaa, first.
  • Extemporaneous reading: Zoe Huber, third; Sonja Palmer, fourth; Madeleine Hoag, fifth.
  • Extemporaneous speaking: Steve Maschhoff, first; Alexis Shaw, second; Ryan Fritz, third. 
  • Great speeches: Emma Johnson, second.
  • Informative: Avery Larson, second; 
  • Poetry: Olivia Armstrong, fourth; Emma Hines, fifth.
  • Prose: Emma Wolf, fourth. 

Additionally, Angie Klein was named subsection coach of the year.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Pineandlakes Echo Journal." Often, the "Pineandlakes Echo Journal" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.

Send us your news or story ideas by emailing or calling 218-855-5877. Be sure to leave a message!
What To Read Next
Get Local