Pequot Lakes speech team takes second at subsections

The section meet is April 15

Subsections 2023.jpg
The Pequot Lakes speech team includes: front row from left, Veronica Broskovetz, Sammy McMahon, Ryan Fritz, Avery Larson and Lil Corbett; middle row, Amelia Reynolds, Zoe Huber, CeCe Kinney, Madeleine Hoag and Camden Zinda; back row, Teagan Johnson, Taya Hoffman, Tabitha Kibwaa, Amani Kibwaa and Emma Hines.

MENAHGA — The Pequot Lakes High School speech team secured a second-place finish at the Subsection 23A Tournament in Menahga on Saturday, April 1.

Staples-Motley took first at the event.

Advancing to sections for the Patriots are:

  • Discussion: Veronica Broskovetz (first), Lil Corbett (second).
  • Drama: Sammy McMahon (first), Amani Kibwaa (second), Teagan Johnson (sixth).
  • Extemporaneous Reading: Madeleine Hoag (second), Zoe Huber (third), Cecilia Kinney (fourth), Taya Hoffman (fifth).
  • Extemporaneous Speaking: Ryan Fritz (first).
  • Informative: Avery Larson (second).
  • Oratory: Amelia Reynolds (fifth).
  • Prose: Tabitha Kibwaa (second), Emma Hines (fourth).

The section tournament will take place Saturday, April 15, in Perham. The top three in each category will advance to state.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Pineandlakes Echo Journal." Often, the "Pineandlakes Echo Journal" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.

Send us your news or story ideas by emailing or calling 218-855-5877. Be sure to leave a message!
What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads