Nominations open for Nisswa Citizen of the Year

Nisswa Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for the 35th recipient of the award.


NISSWA — The Nisswa Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations for the annual Nisswa Citizen of the Year award.

Nominees should be outstanding servants of Nisswa, demonstrating passion and commitment toward the betterment of their community. Those nominated do not need to be Chamber members, nor do they need to be citizens of Nisswa. Summer residents qualify. 

Community service has always been part of Seipp's life

Those interested in nominating a candidate should submit a written letter, postmarked no later than Friday,  April 8, or emailed/dropped off by Tuesday, April 12. The letter should reveal the core reasons suggesting a particular nominee be selected as this year’s winner.

The writer must also submit their own address and telephone number, should more information be requested on behalf of the nominee.

Letters and contact information should be mailed to: 2022 Nisswa Citizen of the Year Selection Committee, c/o Nisswa  Chamber of Commerce, P.O. Box 185, Nisswa, MN 56468. Letters can also be emailed to info@nisswa,com or dropped off at the chamber office during business hours. 


The winner will be selected by a committee consisting of three past Citizen of the Year winners and two Nisswa  Chamber Board members. The 2022 Nisswa Citizen of the Year will be recognized at the Nisswa Chamber  membership dinner in May. 

The Nisswa Chamber of Commerce has recognized 34 outstanding individuals as Nisswa Citizen of the  Year for their contributions to the community. 

Previous Nisswa Citizens of the Year include: Lee Seipp 2021, Bill Mattson 2019, John Wallin 2018, Lynn Fairbanks 2016-17, Mike Burns 2015, Ted Dullum 2014, Debra Cruz 2013, John and Cindy Terwilliger 2012, Penny Stumvoll 2011, Teresa Faust 2010, Ted Schaefer 2009, Richard Geike 2008, Mark Ulm 2007, Lenny  Hodgson 2006, George Holtan 2005, Wendell “Del” Draves 2004, Robert “Bob” Holland 2003, Dick Carlson 2002, Ingrid Anderson 2001, Harold Kraus 2000, Jerry and Ruth Peltier 1999, Mark Ronnei 1998, Bernice Hinkie 1997, Bob Sheplee 1996, Terry McCaughey 1995, Jack Warden 1994, Marv Koep 1993, Howard  Wallentine 1992, Bob Hurst 1991, Dick Cook 1990, Jim Dullum 1989, and Scott Mike Thurlow 1988.

The 2016-17 timeframe switched from being recognized in the fall of 2016 to a spring recognition for 2018, so Fairbanks served a year and a half as Citizen of the Year. 

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Pineandlakes Echo Journal." Often, the "Pineandlakes Echo Journal" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.

Send us your news or story ideas by emailing or calling 218-855-5877. Be sure to leave a message!
What To Read Next
Property owners may help straighten out young trees that remain bent
Club will discuss publication submission opportunities
Angel Zierden was elected mayor in November, but she has "every intention" of running for governor one day
Ideas sought for activities and projects for the coming year