Candidates trickle in with incumbents, newcomers filing in Cass, Crow Wing counties

No more area political races emerge on third day of filings

Illustration, Shutterstock, Inc.
We are part of The Trust Project.

Two incumbent Pine River-Backus School Board members and the incumbent Nisswa mayor will seek a return to office after filing Thursday, Aug. 4, along with an appointed Pequot Lakes City Council member, a longtime Lake Shore City Council and former mayor, and a newcomer in Backus.

More candidate filing news
Second day of candidate filings doesn't bring many people forward

The candidate filing period for city council/mayor, school board and township seats remains open through 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 16. The general election is Tuesday, Nov. 8.

Following is a list of area candidates who had filed for office as of 5 p.m. Thursday, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State's website.

Pine River-Backus School Board

  • Four four-year school board terms: Wanda Carlson (incumbent), Ryan Trumble (incumbent).

Pequot Lakes

  • Two four-year city council terms: Dan Ronning (appointed council member).

Breezy Point

  • Two-year mayor term: Angel Zierden.
  • One two-year city council term: Steve Jensen.


  • Two-year mayor term: Carla Bainbridge, Dave Nevin (incumbent).
  • Two four-year city council terms: Jayme A. Knapp.


  • Two-year mayor term: John Ryan (incumbent).
  • Two four-year city council terms: Jesse Zahn (appointed council member), Mark Froehle (appointed council member).

Lake Shore

  • Two four-year city council terms: John Terwilliger (incumbent).


  • Two four-year city council terms: Barb Sherlock.

East Gull Lake

  • Two four-year city council terms: James Ritter.


  • Two-year mayor term: Roger (Buddy) Lund.
  • Two four-year city council terms: Bill Spiess, Dave Johnson, Gregory Koch.
Read more local area news
The Duluth native has worked in Crosslake since April
Proceeds go to support youth scholarships.
Meeting comes as part of centennial celebration.
Take a look at just some of what was on the Echo Journal's e-paper pages in the last week at
The celebration was Saturday, Aug. 6.
Play 500 in Pine River or bridge in Ideal Township.
A look at police reports in the northern Brainerd lakes area - Cass and Crow Wing counties.
Applications close Oct. 1. Applicants in Cass County are encouraged to apply.


Area Crow Wing County townships

  • Gail Lake Township: David C. Bramman, supervisor seat 2. Donald L. Lohse, supervisor seat 3. Catherine Erickson, town clerk.
  • Jenkins Township: James Olsen, town clerk.
  • Little Pine: Norman Hawley, town supervisor seat B. Nan Hawley, town treasurer.

Area Cass County townships

  • Birch Lake: John Freeman, town supervisor seat 2. Nicholas Daigle and Tony Peterson, town supervisor seat 3.

Visit Friday, Aug. 5, for an update on area candidate filings.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "Pineandlakes Echo Journal." Often, the "Pineandlakes Echo Journal" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.

Send us your news or story ideas by emailing or calling 218-855-5877. Be sure to leave a message!
What to read next
The filing period to seek election to area city, township and school board seats remains open through 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 16.
The event begins at 11 a.m. and ends when the food is gone.
The Minnesota State Patrol responded to the crash, reported at 6:21 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 10, in Pequot Lakes.