Before its regular meeting Monday, Jan. 11, the Crosslake Community School Board conducted its annual reorganizational meeting.

  • Cinda Jensen was renamed chair of the board, and Lance Swanson was named vice chair.
  • Heidi O’Brien and Beverly Loeffler were named board secretary and treasurer, respectively.
  • The First National Bank of Crosslake was named the official depository, while three publications - the Echo Journal, Northland Press and Brainerd Dispatch - were named official newspapers.
  • Loeffler and Ronda Veit join the finance committee, while Swanson joins both the environmental education and facilities committees. O’Brien will represent the board on the community engagement committee and Kysa Corbett joins the wellness committee. Newcomer to the board Maggie Heggerston will serve on the marketing committee.

In other action, the board:

  • Approved a revised budget for fiscal year 2021. With the revision, the school is looking to operate with revenues of $4,608,881.06, with expenditures totaling $4,797,696.78.

  • Approved the formation of an administrative personnel study committee, the primary purpose of which is to discuss the roles of administrative personnel given the feedback from various board members about the director of seat-based learning position.

  • Set its application deadline for the 2021-2022 school year for 3 p.m. Friday, March 26.

  • Set class limits for the next year at 19 students.

  • Agreed to postpone its strategic study session, moving it into February or March.

Dan Determan may be reached at 218-855-5879 or Follow him on Facebook and on Twitter at