Dan Ronning was appointed to the Pequot Lakes City Council on Tuesday, Jan. 5, by unanimous vote and without discussion.

He will fill the late Jerry Akerson’s term through 2022. Akerson died in October. Ronning most recently served as chair of the Park Commission.

Others who applied for the two-year seat were Jason Baca, who lost election bids in 2016 and 2020 for a council seat; Brad Becklin, an Economic Development Commission member; Debbi Graham; Kent Johnson, who sought a council seat in the November election; and James Tayloe, who served the past two years as mayor before losing a bid for a second term in November.

Before the council appointment, City Administrator Rich Spiczka administered the oath of office to Mayor Tyler Gardner and council members Scott Pederson and Pete Clement, who all won election in November.

Gardner served as a council member from 2013-14 before resigning after moving out of the city for a few years.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Pederson was first elected in 2012 to a four-year council term after being appointed in August 2012 to fulfill the term of a council member who resigned.

Clement was appointed to serve from January-March 2020 when Akerson couldn’t serve for health reasons.

Pederson said he was pleased to see numerous qualified applicants for the city council seat.

Nancy Vogt may be reached at 218-855-5877 or nancy.vogt@pineandlakes.com. Follow her on Facebook and on Twitter at www.twitter.com/@PEJ_Nancy.