The League of Minnesota Cities recognized 34 state lawmakers, including state Sen. Carrie Ruud, R-Breezy Point, as 2019 Legislators of Distinction.

Chosen legislators are honored for specific actions that helped efforts of Minnesota cities during the past year’s legislative session. Legislators of Distinction are approved annually by the league’s board of directors in recognition of the collaboration of state and city officials needed to successfully serve shared communities and meet the unique needs of rural, urban and suburban residents across Minnesota, a news release said.

To be eligible for the award, legislators must achieve one or more of the following criteria:

  • Be generally and reasonably accessible to league representatives.

  • Seek input on issues of importance to cities.

  • Listen to league concerns and be receptive to league-provided information on issues.

  • Sponsor and/or support league initiatives.

  • Speak out on behalf of the interest of cities.

  • Demonstrate the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Ruud used her position as chair of the Minnesota Senate Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Legacy Finance Committee to lead efforts to give cities the tools they need to be successful in protecting Minnesota’s environmental resources, including authoring legislation that resulted in $1 million of state funding being allocated for grants to assist cities in managing emerald ash borer.