Weather Forecast


Federal aid approved to help Minnesota counties recover from summer storms

WASHINGTON -- Twenty seven Minnesota counties and three tribes will be eligible for federal disaster assistance after they were hammered with storms this past summer.

U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn., said on Wednesday, Sept. 5, that the aid designation signed by President Trump will provide reimbursement at least up to 75 percent of the costs to repair roads, bridges and water systems.

U.S. Sen. Tina Smith, D-Minn., said she would push to get assistance out to eligible areas as quickly as possible.

The counties are in the southwest, northwest and northeast parts of Minnesota. Many were hit with one-day rainfalls of up to 9 to 10 inches.

The declaration covers the following counties and tribal areas: Aitkin, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Faribault, Itasca, Jackson, Koochiching, Lake, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Redwood, Renville, Rock, St. Louis, Sibley, Watonwan and the tribal governments of the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, Red Lake Nation, and White Earth Nation.