Weather Forecast


2018 Election: Filings close Aug. 14 for city, township, school board seats

More candidates have filed for election, guaranteeing a contested mayoral and city council election in Pequot Lakes while several incumbents will look to retain their seats in other cities.

Pequot Lakes

James Tayloe and Pete Clement both filed for the mayor's seat. Cheri Seils filed for a city council seat. Filing previously were incumbent Jerry Akerson and newcomer Jeff Boucher for city council seats.

Incumbent Valarie Wallin will seek another four-year term on the Pequot Lakes School Board, while newcomer Dena M. Moody has filed as well, seeking her first term.

Breezy Point

Current council members Gary Bakken and Michael Moroni have filed to each run for another four-year term.

Filing previously was incumbent Tom Lillehei for the mayor's seat.


Filing previously was incumbent Patty Norgaard for the mayor's seat and John Andrews for a city council seat.

Pine River-Backus

Incumbent Leslie Bouchonville will seek another four-year term on the Pine River-Backus School Board.

Lake Shore

John Terwilliger filed for another term on the city council. Terwilliger was appointed to the council in January 2001, and served one term before serving five terms as mayor. He returned to the council in 2014.

Filing previously was incumbent Kevin Egan for the mayor's seat.

East Gull Lake

Filing previously was incumbent Scott Hoffman for a city council seat.

Filings opened Tuesday, July 31, and close Tuesday, Aug. 14, for area city, township and school board seats on the Nov. 6 general election ballot. The filing fee is $2, paid to the city, township or school office clerks.

Most area mayor seats and two four-year city council seats will be on the Nov. 6 general election ballot for area cities, as well as three four-year Pequot Lakes School Board seats, and four four-year Pine River-Backus School Board seats.

Various township supervisor and clerk seats are open in Crow Wing and Cass County townships.