Election 2020: Late filings reports lead to mayor, council races in Pine River

Fifty Lakes, Jenkins, Hackensack also to see council races; two drop out of Crosslake council race

Election 2020 art graphic logo

Late candidate filings reports led to races for both the mayor and council seats in Pine River.

Incumbent Tammy Hansen filed for re-election to the Pine River City Council on the last day of candidate filings Tuesday, Aug. 11, setting up a race among three candidates for two council seats. Incumbent Troy Gregory and newcomer Mark Bye also filed.

Jeanean Bye filed for mayor against incumbent Tamara Hansen in Pine River.

Four people filed for Fifty Lakes City Council seats on the last day of filings, joining a candidate who filed earlier. Those five people will vie for two council seats in the Nov. 3 general election.

Though there’s still a council race in Crosslake, two people did drop out after initially filing for a seat: Lee Fischer and former council member Mark Wessels.


There’s also a council race in Jenkins and Hackensack.

Following are area city and township candidate filings that weren’t included in a story published in the Aug. 12 Echo Journal:

Pine River

Mayor (elect 1): Tamara Hansen (incumbent); Jeanean Bye.

Council (elect 2): Mark Bye; Troy Gregory (incumbent); Tammy Hansen (incumbent).

Fifty Lakes

Mayor (elect 1): Steve Dahlke; Linda Steffens (incumbent).

Council (elect 2): Eric Miller; Toni Buchite (current appointed council member); Julie Engle (current appointed council member); Gary Staples.

Manhattan Beach

Council (elect 1): Janis Allen (incumbent)

Special council election (elect 1): Robert Amundson; Michael Dozark.


Clerk/treasurer (elect 1): Marlene Yurek (appointed/formerly held council seat)


Mayor (elect 1): Robert Heidelberger; Jon Lubke (incumbent).

Council (elect 2): Debbie Stiller-Siltman; Kim Bachmann; Charles Hoffman (incumbent).


Mayor (elect 1): Bill Kennedy (current council member); Gus Kaubisch.

Council (elect 2): Andrew Johnson; Lee-Ann Marchwick (incumbent); Charlene Wilkes.

Chickamaw Beach

Mayor (elect 1): Murel Backman (current council member).

Council (elect 2): Lindsey Lindstrom; LeAnn Sand.

Council (special election-elect 1): Suzanne Henk.


Area Crow Wing County townships

Little Pine: David Kauphusman (incumbent), Supervisor Seat A; Abra Hawley (incumbent), clerk.

Mission: Jim Roach (incumbent), supervisor seat A; Bob Steele and Dave Hauser (incumbent), supervisor seat B; Anna Anderson (incumbent), clerk.

Pelican: Dennis Morris, supervisor seat A; Bruce Westerberg (incumbent), supervisor seat C; Alisha Wallin, treasurer.

Perry Lake: No filings for supervisor seat 1 and clerk were listed on the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website.

Timothy: Gary Raph (incumbent), supervisor seat A; Charles Bryant, supervisor seat B; Beth Peterson (incumbent), treasurer. No filings for clerk were listed on the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website.

Area Cass County townships

Barclay: Clarence Sears (incumbent), supervisor seat 2; Bruce Digiovanni (incumbent), supervisor seat 3; Brenda Hamilton (incumbent), treasurer.

Bull Moose: No filings for supervisor seats 2 and 3 and clerk were listed on the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website.

Bungo: Larry Peterson (incumbent) and Bill Thomas, supervisor seat 1; Linda Neumann (incumbent), clerk.


Homebrook: Terry Stumvoll (incumbent), supervisor seat 1; Ardell Schultz (incumbent), clerk; Jill Frieler (current treasurer), special election for treasurer.

Loon Lake: Rick Wilson (incumbent), supervisor seat 1; Paul Gravdahl and Kurtis Moody, supervisor seat 2; Timothy Murphy (incumbent), clerk.

Maple: Mariann Guentzel and Robert McNerney (incumbent), supervisor seat 1; Larry Birge (incumbent) and Curtis Hoefs, supervisor seat 2; Kathleen Stephan (incumbent), clerk.

Pine River: Bill Fitch and David Smith (incumbent), supervisor seat 2; Devon Dabill and Kerry Krumwiede (incumbent), supervisor seat 3; Karen Bresnahan (incumbent), treasurer.

Ponto Lake: Michael Prososki (incumbent), supervisor seat 1; Glen Hockett and Jon Lacho, supervisor seat 2; Nan Ladehoff (incumbent), treasurer.

Powers: William (Bill) Taylor (incumbent), supervisor seat 1; Kory Crawford, Tim Drinka and Leslie Kunde, supervisor seat 3.

Walden: Joel Erickson (incumbent), supervisor seat 1; Michael Austad (incumbent), supervisor seat 3; Susan Austad (incumbent), treasurer. No filings for the special election for clerk were listed on the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website.

Wilson: Marlin Torkelson (incumbent), supervisor seat 1; Charles Swenson (incumbent) and Gregory Witt, supervisor seat 4; Mark Buchite (incumbent), supervisor seat 5; Sherry Smith, clerk.

Nancy Vogt is editor of the Pineandlakes Echo Journal, a weekly newspaper that covers eight communities in the Pequot Lakes-Pine River areas - from Nisswa to Hackensack and Pequot Lakes to Crosslake.

She started as editor of the Lake Country Echo in July 2006, and continued in that role when the Lake Country Echo and the Pine River Journal combined in September 2013 to become the Pineandlakes Echo Journal. She worked for the Brainerd Dispatch from 1992-2006 in various roles.

She covers Nisswa, Pequot Lakes, Lake Shore and Crosslake city councils, as well as writes feature stories, news stories and personal columns (Vogt's Notes). She also takes photos at community events.

Contact her at or 218-855-5877 with story ideas or questions. Be sure to leave a voicemail message!
What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads