DULUTH – Area high school seniors set to pursue bachelor’s degrees in math or science have just been awarded scholarships from the Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund.

Selected from among 153 applicants, recipients will each receive $20,000, distributed over eight semesters, beginning with the 2020-2021 school year.

With Minnesota schools being closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, scholarship certificates that would normally be presented by Alworth board or staff members at high school awards ceremonies have been mailed to recipients’ homes.

The area 2020-2021 Alworth Scholarship recipients, listed by high school, are:


  • Rian, Woodrow L


  • Darkow, Maxwell C
  • Desmith, Erik M
  • Knapp, Callie O
  • Korhonen, Emma M
  • Narlock, Victoria S
  • Villwock, Quin M
  • Crosby-Ironton
  • Stirewalt, James A

Pequot Lakes

  • Schiessl, Holly M


  • Nagel, Grace A

Pine River-Backus

  • Barchus, Emma K
  • Davidson, George T