Weather Forecast


Pequot Lakes speech team nabs third place

Award winners for Pequot Lakes. Front row, from left: Ali Sommerness, Ashley Mixer, Mollie Pierson, Courtney Rock, Megan Buffington, Allison Francis and Zach Bauer. Second row: Kaleb Sundstrom, Emily Brunkhorst, Elena Grove, Annabelle Ristow, Naarah Neumann and Elizabeth Blaeser. Third row: Synclair Gardiner, Kiley Newton, Mariah Rickard, Alexa Fyle, Lola Eastwood and Hunter Johnson.

The Pequot Lakes speech team finished third out of 25 teams, behind Chaska and Forest Lake, at the 58th annual Rotary Duluth Denfeld Speech Tournament on Saturday, Feb. 2. This year's tournament had 500 entries.

Placing for the Patriots were:

Discussion: Mollie Pierson, fourth; Kaleb Sundstrom, third Honor Final.

Drama: Ali Sommerness, sixth.

Duo: Emily Brunkhorst and Elena Grove, third Honor Final.

Extemporaneous reading: Courtney Rock, second; Allison Francis, fifth; Annabelle Ristow, sixth Honor Final.

Extemporaneous speaking: Megan Buffington, third.

Great speeches: Buffington, fourth.

Oratory: Naarah Neumann, fifth Honor Final.

Poetry: Ashley Mixer, fourth.

Prose: Zach Bauer, third; Rock, fourth; Elizabeth Blaeser, seventh Honor Final.

Winning ribbons of excellence were Hunter Johnson, Lola Eastwood, Alexa Fyle, Mariah Rickard, Kiley Newton, Elena Grove and Synclair Gardiner.

The Patriots will travel to Staples-Motley on Saturday, Feb. 9.