Weather Forecast


Extra Credit

Anna Gardner, Brainerd, recently was selected to serve on The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's Council of Students.

The council, comprised of six student vice presidents from chapters across the nation, will serve as the student engagement committee for the Society.

Gardner, initiated into Phi Kappa Phi in 2017, is currently pursuing bachelor degrees in film, photography and visual arts and art history at Ithaca College.

She will serve a two-year term on the council during the 2018-20 biennium.

Courtney Lillian Newland, Breezy Point, was among 751 graduates who received degrees from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln during the summer commencement ceremony Aug. 11 at Pinnacle Bank Arena.

Newland earned a master of science from the Office of Graduate Studies.

Samantha L. Littman, Pequot Lakes, was named to the University of Alabama dean's list for spring 2018.

Abrielle Mumm, Pequot Lakes, was named to the University of Iowa's dean's list for the spring 2018 semester.

The following students received bachelor of arts degrees in May from St. Mary's University of Minnesota in Winona: Daniel Hammer, son of William and Teresa Hammer, Baxter; and Kaleb Quast, son of Michael and Victoria Quast, Garrison.

The following students graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison: Alexander Gross, Brainerd; Taylor Stiller, Pequot Lakes; and Shane Solinger, Pierz.

Danielle McKay, Nisswa, was named to the dean's list at Drake University for spring semester.

The following students from the area received the University of Wisconsin-Stout Chancellor's Award for the spring 2018 semester: Andrew Pitassi, Emily; and Jonah Lelwica, Pine River.

The following students were named to North Dakota State University's summer dean's list: Cody A. Tusler, Brainerd; Shannon M. Nesseth, Deerwood; and Hope M. Theisen, Wadena.