SUBSCRIBE NOW AND SAVE $1 for 6 months of unlimited news



Brainerd lakes area students receive Central Lakes College Foundation scholarships

Students named from Breezy Point, Merrifield, Crosslake, Fifty Lakes, Nisswa, Pequot Lakes and Pine River.

CLC Alternative Signature Color.jpg

The Central Lakes College Foundation announces the distribution of $167,846 for fall 2021 scholarships to local students.

“As I reflect on this tremendous scholarship support, I recognize it was only possible because of the leadership of our board and the generosity from our college community,” Kate Adornetto, CLC Foundation director, said in a news release. “Additionally, it takes a team of volunteers to review each scholarship applicant, and I want to thank those individuals for their role in this very important part of the scholarship process.”

To learn more about donating to the CLC Foundation or establishing a scholarship fund of your own, contact Adornetto at 218-855-8129.

Following is a list of area students and the scholarship each received:

  • Breezy Point: Shiloh Martinez, Thomas Taylor, Jessica Olsen and Krystal Sprint received scholarships from the Pat & Dee Sprenger Licensed Practical Nurse Scholarship Fund, Staples Student Senate Scholarship Fund, Wells Fargo Bank MN Scholarship, Gayle Rognaldson Memorial Scholarship Fund, Lynn and Paul Hunt Endowment Fund, A. Leslie Smith Scholarship Fund and Michael E. Norris Scholarship Fund.
  • Crosslake: Kaitlyn Patterson and Roselle Johnson received scholarships from the following funds: Joseph Plut Scholarship Fund and Robert and Valerie Miller Scholarship.
  • Fifty Lakes: Ashley Moser received a scholarship from the Roy and Mildred Sargent Family Fund.
  • Merrifield: Katie Olson and Kayla Hiller received scholarships from the Brainerd Service League Scholarship Fund and Jean Porwoll Fund.
  • Nisswa: Bailey Lane and Brooke Watland received scholarships from the CLC Employee Scholarship, Myrtle and Ray Little Scholarship Fund, and Crow Wing Power and Light Scholarship Fund.
  • Pequot Lakes: Emma Trees, Logan Wallin, Paris Halverson, Sidney Miller, Colana Wilson, Isaiah Loukota, Kylie Wolkenhauer and Maliah Carlson received scholarships from the Jean Porwoll Fund, Don Wig Memorial Scholarship Fund, Stewart C. Mills Sr. Memorial Scholarship Fund, CLC Liberal Arts/Brainerd High School, Lynn and Paul Hunt Family Scholarship Fund, Hunt Family Scholarship, Joseph Plut Scholarship Fund, Monica Tricker Scholarship, and Stewart C. Mills Sr. Scholarship Fund.
  • Pine River: Jackson Brennan, Ian Newbold, Amber Grigsby, Jared Adkins, Heidi Haff, Amber Flowers and Kalli King received scholarships from the Crow Wing Power and Light Scholarship Fund, Staples Student Senate Scholarship Fund, Reese/Webb Family Scholarship Fund, Staples General Endowment Scholarship Fund, Brainerd Fire Department Relief Association Fund, E. Terry Skone Scholarship Fund, Charles Burton Memorial Fund and Stephen Amy Scholarship.
What to read next
Winners of several competitions that were part of the annual Hackensack event announced.
Following some discussions and disagreements over the maintenance of a shared road, the city of Jenkins and Wilson Township reached an agreement to leave maintenance to the township.
The victim was transported to a Duluth-area hospital. The Sheriff's Office described her condition Sunday night as stable.
Registration due by March 4.