Weather Forecast


Area farm bureau members to attend American Farm Bureau Federation annual meeting

Over 70 farm bureau members from Minnesota will travel to the American Farm Bureau Federation's 100th annual meeting Jan. 11-16 in New Orleans.

Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation President Kevin Paap will be attending. In addition, Katie Winslow from Stearns County will compete in the Discussion Meet and Winslow and Ted Brenny from Goodhue County will compete in the Excellence in Agriculture contest.

Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation Award winners will also be attending: MFB Foundation Ag Communicator of the Year Joe Gill from KASM radio station in Stearns County; MFB Extension Faculty and Staff of the Year Marcia Woeste from Long Prairie in Todd County, Brainerd regional office; MFB Foundation FFA Advisor of the Year Shawn Linder from Grand Rapids High School and Itasca County; and MFB Foundation Post-Secondary Agriculture Educator of the Year Gerald Toland of Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall from Lyon County.

Attendees will be from the counties of Aitkin, Blue Earth, Brown, Cass, Crow Wing, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Itasca, Lyon, Meeker, Murray, Norman, Renville, Roseau, Olmsted, Stearns, Swift, Todd, Washington-Ramsey, Otter Tail and Wright.