Weather Forecast



May 8, 2018
Jon and Kim Stolski of Baxter, parents of a Brainerd High School senior, look at artwork Monday during the BHS Fine Arts and Activities banquet.
Jennifer Kraus / Brainerd Dispatch
Fine arts banquet honors students and their art
May 8, 2018 - 6:00am
April 26, 2018
Pequot Lakes speech students placing at state, from left: Mollie Pierson, Allie Miller and Savannah Ellison.
Pequot Lakes: Ellison runner-up at state speech meet - Pierson, Miller also place
April 26, 2018 - 10:00am
April 20, 2018
Front row, from left: Kiley Newton, Allie Miller, Savannah Ellison, Cydney Philiposian and Ali Sommerness. Back row: Lilli Jorgens, Zach Bauer, Mollie Pierson, Sydney Ellison and Elizabeth Blaeser. Not pictured: Riley McCapes and William Moe. Submitted photo
Pequot Lakes speech team takes second in Section
April 20, 2018 - 9:00am
April 17, 2018
Front row, from left: W. Moe, M. Pierson, A. Pierson, A. Sommerness, A.Miller, S. Ellison, R. McCapes, S. Ellison, K. Newton and G. Bonfig. Second row: D. Maschhoff, K.r Kurilla, J. Hall, R. Friberg, E. Brunkhorst, E. Grove, H. Halverson, S. Veit, M. Buffington and E. Blaeser. Third row: H. Allen, E. Ray, Z. Bauer, N. Neumann, A. Francis, L. Haberman, L. Jorgens and C. Philliposian. Back row: A. Evenson, I. Loukota, C. Kaneski, C. Bisson-Dale, M. Pearson, C. Rock, M. Neumann, E. Lasart and S. Gardiner.
Pequot Lakes speech team takes subsection title - Ellison, Moe, Bonfig win individual titles
April 17, 2018 - 10:00am
April 13, 2018
Pine River-Backus speech team members advancing to the Section 6A tournament include Kansas Tilbury and Emma Pflugshaupt. Submitted Photo
Pine River-Backus speech team members place at subsection meet
April 13, 2018 - 12:30pm
March 29, 2018
Pequot Lakes speech team competes in national qualifier
March 29, 2018 - 5:30am
March 20, 2018
Submitted Photo
Pequot Lakes junior high speech team earns blue ribbons
March 20, 2018 - 3:00am
March 12, 2018
Front, l-r:  A. Mixer, M. Pierson, S. Ellison, A. Pierson, L. Jorgens, S. Ellison, W. Moe,  Z. Bauer. 2nd row:  A. Evenson, R. McCapes, A. Miller, K. Newton, H. Halverson, A. Sommerness. 3rd row:  I. Loukota, G. Bonfig, J. Hall, C. Rock, E. Blaeser, C. Philiposian, L. Haberman. 4th row:  S. Gardiner, R. Friberg, S. Maciej,  A. Francis and H. Allen. 5th row:  M. Neumann, M. Buffington, E. Lasaart, N. Neumann, E. Grove, S. Veit, D. Maschhoff. Back:  C. Bisson-Dale, M. Pearson.
Pequot Lakes speech team takes third in Walker, wins Bemidji Invite
March 12, 2018 - 9:00am
March 5, 2018
PL junior high speech earns eight ribbons
March 5, 2018 - 8:00am
March 1, 2018
Submitted Photo
PL Speech wins Bemidji tournament
March 1, 2018 - 9:58am
February 27, 2018
Front row, from left: A. Pierson, M. Pierson, A. Miller and S. Ellison. Second row: A. Sommerness, C. Rock, S. Ellison and Z. Bauer. Third row: C. Philiposian, H. Halverson, E. Brunkhorst and W. Moe. Fourth row: G. Maske, T. Flowers, S. Veit, S. Gardiner and E. Grove. Fifth row: G. Bonfig, E. Lasart, C. Bisson-Dale, N. Neuman, R. Friberg, A. Evenson and A. Francis. Back row: M. Pearson, L. Jorgens, E. Blaeser, I. Loukota, D. Maschhoff, A. Mixer, J. Hall and L. Haberman.
Pequot Lakes speech team wins Brainerd Invite - Five Patriots earn individual championships
February 27, 2018 - 7:00am
February 19, 2018
Pequot Lakes: Speech takes second in Underwood
February 19, 2018 - 3:30am
February 14, 2018
Submitted Photo
Front row, from left: Coach Elizabeth Rock, Sarah Lemaster, Myra Neumann, Shelby Balmer, Lilix Gustafson, Brook Hennies, Aimee Neumann, Georgie Thompson, Emma Hines, Ethan Lundgren, Avery Larson and Marissa Lawrence. Back row: Angelina Doughty, Grace Jordan, Lauren Hollingsworth, Lily Blomer, Ashley Wallin and Tabitha Kibwaa.
PL Junior High Speech wins 6 ribbons
February 14, 2018 - 1:45pm
February 13, 2018
Award-winning speech students at the Duluth Denfeld Tournament. Front row, from left: William Moe, Addie Pierson, Allie Miller and Sydney Ellison. Second row: Hannah Allen, Emily Brunkhorst, Elena Grove, Savannah Ellison, Megan Buffington, Riley McCapes and Lili Jorgens. Third row: Cydney Philiposian, Elizabeth Blaeser, Naarah Neumann, Olivia Gerber, Sam Maciej and Zach Bauer. Back row: Allison Francis and Ali Sommerness. Submitted Photo
Speech: Patriots second at Little Falls, fourth at Duluth
February 13, 2018 - 7:00am
February 12, 2018
Pine River-Backus' speech team consisting of Allie Yost, Cody Deplazes, Randall Yost, Chawna Cusey, Chayna Cusey, Molly Adkins, Kansas Tilbury and Emma Pflugshaupt were recently awarded a first place trophy collectively. Several team mates were also recognized for individual speeches at two competitions. Submitted Photo
Speech: Tigers take first place
February 12, 2018 - 5:00am