Weather Forecast


Mesenbrink chosen MVP for Patriots

Award winners at the Pequot Lakes Patriots’ baseball team banquet included: Justin Olson, left, Austin Mesenbrink, Hunter Larson and Karl Satterlund. Submitted photo

Junior Austin Mesenbrink was chosen most valuable player for the Pequot Lakes Patriots at a team banquet on Thursday, June 5.

Mesenbrink was an All-Mid-State Conference pick while batting .417 and leading the Patriots with 16 RBI. He also compiled a 2.18 earned-run average with 21 strikeouts in 32 innings.

Pequot Lakes junior Justin Olson and sophomore Jared Sewall received all-conference honorable mention. Olson led the team in steals with 11 while Sewall had a team-high .469 batting average..

The Patriots finished 8-11 overall after losing to Minnewaska in the subsection playoffs for first-year head coach Jon Kotaska.

"We had two guys (Sewall and Mesenbrink) hit over .400 while Justin Olson batted .396," Kotaska said. "We're a young team with all of our top hitters back. We could have been a .500 team as we lost several close games."

Other awards included: Karl Satterlund, Patriot Award; Hunter Larson, most improved: and Olson, hardest worker.

Letterwinners were seniors Jordan Thorson, Dalton Rickard, Luke Florell and Spencer Sanford; juniors Mesenbrink, Connor Davich, Olson, Jack Kloster, Zach Trottier and Oliver Erholtz; and sophomores Josh Buell, Chad Christianson, Hunter Larson, Kody Kettleson and Sewell.