Weather Forecast


Greatland Conference announces postseason honors

The Greatland Conference announced its all-conference selections Tuesday.

Nikiski, which shared the conference title with Barrow before going on to defeat the Whalers in the small-schools First National Bowl, had three of the four major honors.

Lincoln Johnson was named the lineman of the year. Johnson also made the first team as a tackle, long snapper and defensive lineman.

Josh Brown was named the offensive player of the year. Brown was on the first team as a fullback.

Finally, Ted Riddall was named the coach of the year.

The rest of the awards follow:

Greatland Conference All-Conference selections

Lineman of the year - Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski.

Offensive player of the year - Josh Brown, Nikiski.

Defensive player of the year - N. Samuelu, Barrow.

Coach of the year - Ted Riddall, Nikiski.


First team

Quarterback - McLaren, Delta; Colton Anderson, Nikiski.

Fullback - Josh Brown, Nikiski.

Halfback - Kaden Spurgeon, Nikiski; Holmes, Monroe.

Center - Oskolkoff, Barrow; D. Samuelu, Barrow.

Guard - N. Samuelu, Barrow; Henry Eide, Nikiski; Crooks, Eielson.

Tackle - E. Samuelu, Barrow; Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski; Milton, Monroe.

Tight end - Delauder, Eielson.

Wide receiver - Bynum, Monroe; Tappen, Delta.

Long snapper - Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski.

Second team

Quarterback - Pace, Monroe; Benson, Barrow.

Fullback - Dunlap, Eielson.

Halfback - Hudson, Barrow; Ellsworth, Eielson.

Center - Tallman, Eielson; Kimball, Delta; Davis, Seward.

Guard - Long, Valdez; Smith, Eielson; Kunkle, Monroe; Ehvgak, Barrow.

Tackle - Crane, Seward; James, Valdez.

Tight end - Masterson, Barrow.

Wide receiver - Anderson, Seward.

Long snapper - Davis, Seward.

Honorable mention

Quarterback - O'Leary, Seward.

Fullback - Deaton, Valdez; Gavora, Monroe.

Guard - Ohdner, Seward; Logan Harrison, Nikiski.

Tackle - Jones, Barrow.

Tight end - Corey Green, Nikiski.

Long snapper - Kunkle, Monroe; D. Samuelu, Barrow.


First team

Punter - McLaren, Delta.

Kicker - Benson, Barrow.

Defensive line - Smith, Eielson; Milton, Monroe; Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski; Tuai', Barrow.

Inside linebacker - Tallman, Eielson; Kaden Spurgeon, Nikiski; N. Samuelu, Barrow.

Outside linebacker - DeLauder, Eielson; Stephen Hartley, Nikiski; N. Samuelu, Barrow.

Defensive back - Bynum, Monroe; Tappen, Delta; Long, Barrow; Kincade, Eielson.

Return specialist - Bynum, Monroe.

Utility player - Smith, Seward.

Second team

Punter - Benson, Barrow.

Kicker - Mariutto, Monroe.

Defensive line - James, Valdez; Logan Harrison, Nikiski; Holmes, Monroe; Jones, Barrow.

Inside linebacker - Deaton, Valdez; DeBilzan, Delta.

Outside linebacker - Hudson, Barrow; Rininger, Seward; Kompkoff, Seward.

Defensive back - Walter Moore, Nikiski; Edwardson, Barrow; Smith, Seward; McLaren, Delta; Dunlap, Eielson.

Return specialist - Smith, Seward.

Utility player - Floyd Armstrong, Nikiski; Griffith, Eielson; Martolano, Monroe.

Honorable mention

Punter - Paquette, Seward; Pace, Monroe.

Defensive line - Crane, Seward; Fatuch, Seward; Drew, Valdez; Olds, Valdez; Masterson, Barrow.

Inside linebacker - Davis, Seward; Ohdner, Seward.

Outside linebacker - Smith, Valdez; Sanchez, Barrow.

Defensive back - MacDonald, Valdez; Hursh, Valdez; Anderson, Seward; Wells, Monroe.

Return specialist - Stephen Hartley, Nikiski.

Utility player - Snow, Barrow.