Weather Forecast


Nominations sought for Nisswa Citizen of the Year

For 26 years, the Nisswa Chamber of Commerce has recognized an outstanding individual(s) as Nisswa Citizen of the Year for their contributions to the community.

The Nisswa Chamber is accepting nominations for the 2014 award. Nominees should be outstanding servants of Nisswa, demonstrating passion and commitment toward the betterment of their community. Those nominated do not need to be chamber members, nor do they need to be citizens of Nisswa. Summer residents qualify.

Those interested in nominating a candidate should submit a written letter, postmarked no later than Tuesday, Sept. 2, that reveals the core reasons suggesting a particular nominee be selected. The writer must also submit his/her own address and telephone number, should more information be requested on behalf of the nominee.

Letters and contact information should be mailed to the Nisswa Citizen of the Year Selection Committee, Nisswa Chamber of Commerce, PO Box 185, Nisswa, MN 56468.

The winner will be selected by a committee consisting of three previous Citizens of the Year winners and two Nisswa Chamber Board members. The 2014 Nisswa Citizen of the Year will be recognized at the Nisswa Chamber Fall Membership Dinner on Thursday, Sept. 18.

Previous Nisswa Citizens of the Year include: Debra Cruz, 2013; John and Cindy Terwilliger, 2012; Penny Stumvoll, 2011; Teresa Faust, 2010; Ted Schaefer, 2009; Richard Geike, 2008; Mark Ulm, 2007; Lenny Hodgson, 2006; George Holtan, 2005; Wendell "Del" Draves, 2004; Robert "Bob" Holland, 2003; Dick Carlson, 2002; Ingrid Anderson, 2001; Harold Kraus, 2000; Jerry and Ruth Peltier, 1999; Mark Ronnei, 1998; Bernice Hinkie, 1997; Bob Sheplee, 1996; Terry McGaughey, 1995; Jack Warden, 1994; Marv Koep, 1993; Howard Wallentine, 1992; Bob Hurst ,1991; Dick Cook, 1990; Jim Dullum, 1989; and Scott Mike Thurlow, 1988.