Weather Forecast


Road Crew JV team competes

The Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew wrestling team competed against Staples-Motley and Park Rapids on Thursday, Jan. 2.

The Road Crew’s Peter Koering won by fall at 40 seconds, Weston Smith registered a pin at 1:09, and Riley Wilson had a pin at 34 seconds. Tim Ryan dominated and won 16-0. Cotton Anderson was behind 5-0 when he took command and eventually tied the match 7-7 before winning in overtime with a takedown.

Luke Sechser won with a pin at 1:24 and Lucas McCoy won by injury default. Chris Haman led 9-0 before winning by fall at 4:22. Jace Leabo dominated and won 10-2. Sam Pelkey won with a pin at 4:18 and Ryan again won 15-0 behind nine near-fall points. Koering and Justin Nuemann both won with pins.

The junior varsity also recently competed against Walker-Hackensack-Akeley and Royalton. Jake Ryan won with a pin at 1:02. Adison Harrington, Austin Philipson and Eli O’Dell all lost against Royalton. Jake Ryan, Tyan Visser, Cotton Anderson and Joe Leabo all won with pins against W-H-A while Peter Koering, Riley Wilson and Tim Ryan also won.

JV team wins tourney

On Saturday, Jan. 4, the Road Crew JV team won seven titles to finish first at a seven-team meet in Royalton.

Wrestlers from big schools weigh-in while small schools match competitors with the same skills levels.

“At Royalton, the kids had to wrestle against teams we do not see during the year so we didn’t know what to expect,” said Road Crew head coach Travis Hoffarth.

Isaac Manthei won his first two matches with pins then won his final match for first place 10-2. Lucus McCoy won with a pin then won 14-1. Dallin Sonenstahl was first with two pins. Jonah Lelwica had a pin and then won the title 12-4. Joe Harrison won 11-1 then registered a pin for first place. Luke Sechser had two pins to place first and Justin Neumann got a pin and a 12-2 decision to place first.

Chris Haman placed second while Koering , Devyn Richards, David Schroeder and Colton Anderson all placed third. John Urseth was fourth while Tim Ryan and Jace Leabo were fifth for the Road Crew.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889