Weather Forecast


Wiebolt MVP for tennis team

Pequot Lakes’ sophomore Haley Wiebolt was chosen most valuable player for the Patriots’ tennis team at a banquet on Monday, Oct. 14. The Patriots finished 15-5 overall after losing to Park Rapids 4-3 in the Section 8A semifinals on Oct. 11.

Wiebolt, a 4-year letterwinner with 97 career victories, was an all Mid-State Conference selection.

Other players honored were 4-year letterwinner Jaden Lindner – all-conference; hardest worker award; academic all-state and team captain; Sydney Holt - 2-year letterwinner, most improved player; Lauren Bengtson - 4-year letterwinner and hardest worker award; Carly Fyle - 3-year letterwinner; all-conference honorable mention; Ellie Erholtz – 4-year letterwinner, all-conference honorable mention, Patriot Spirit award, academic all-state and team captain; and Erika Monson – 2-year letterwinner, academic all-state and team captain. Madison Galligan and Alex Nelson were 2-year letterwinners and Maggie Heggerston and Sarah Najjar were first-year letterwinners.

Top individual records this fall were Bengtson 26-2, Holt 25-4, Wiebolt 22-9, Monson 21-5, and Galligan and Nelson 21-6. Career win leaders are Wiebolt 97-21, Bengtson 86-21, Lindner 74-42, Fyle 73-26, Erholtz 65-25 and Monson 41-11.

Pequot Lakes tied for second in the Mid-State Conference tournament, compiled a 3-3 record in conference dual meets and won the Brainerd Moose tournament for the first time. The Patriots earned the Academic Silver Award by having a team grade-point average between 3.50 and 3.74. Pequot Lakes’ GPA was 3.69.

“We had a very successful and positive year,” said head coach Monica Sergent, who was assisted by Brian Lempola and Brenda Helmrichs. “The girls were extremely pleasant to work with and very supportive of each other. The hard work the girls put in during the off paid off this season for our team and for several girls individually.”

Junior varsity awards

Following are the records for the Pequot Lakes junior varsity team:

Juniors: Abby Abear 9-4, Megan Malecha 9-2, Carlee Washeck 8-8.

Sophomores: Mikala Huesmann 10-4, Julia Teich 12-4, Renee Anick 9-4, Brittany Knox 5-7, Allie Olson 6-6, Madison Rupp 10-4

Freshmen: Britta Boozell 9-2-1, Kayla Geike 8-5, Mallory Goerges 9-4, Alyssa Golden 9-4, Sydni Hanson 11-1-1, Cassidi Herrlich 13-2, Abby Person 6-8 and Alex Stone 11-3

Eighth-grade: Alexis Lueck 8-5

Seventh-grade: Erin Bengtson 10-6