Weather Forecast


Pequot Lakes Dairy Queen faces theft, vandalism


Junor high runners compete

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports ,
Pineandlakes Echo Journal
customer support
Junor high runners compete

Pequot Lakes was third and Pine River-Backus was fourth in the boys’ cross country race at the Crosby-Ironton Invitational junior high meet on Thursday, Oct. 3, at Ruttger’s Resort in Deerwood. The Pequot Lakes girls placed fourth and the PR-B girls were fifth.


The next meet for PR-B junior high team was the conference championship on Tuesday, Oct. 8, at Sebeka/Menahga.

Boys’ junior high team scores:

Team Results: 1-Brainerd 25; 2-Bemidji 59; 3-Pequot Lakes 98; 4-PR-B 101; 5-C-I 112; 6-N-DR 132

Individual winner (3,000 meters): 1-Jack Evans (Brainerd) 11:05

PR-B results: 21-Jacob Butcher 12:00; 22-Luke Sechser 12:01; 24-Jordan Orth 12:06; 27-Nick Ackerman 12:10; 29-Torry Hirschey 12:22; 34-Peter Koering 12:37; 62-Ewan Newbold 14:10; 78-Jarod Birr 18:59

Girls’ junior high team scores: 1-Brainerd 25; 2-C-I 53; 3-Bemidji 69; 4-PL 103; 5-PR-B 116

Individual winner: 1-Naomi Ringhand (C-I) 12:26

PR-B results: 9-Shayna Moore 13:14; 24-Brooke Kilchesky 14:42; 28-Alex Hoopman 14:47; 42-Emma Templeton 15:42; 44-Ashley Nordlund 15:53; 45-Michelle Tilbury 16:25; 49-Grace Rivers 17:30; 50-Rebecca Weber 17:45; 51-Kiana Waltower 17:46; 54-Audrey Tulenchik 20:45; 55-Lilliana Derksen 20:58

Machacek Invational

The Pequot Lakes boys and girls both won titles in the junior high level at the Jim Machacek Invitational on Monday, Oct. 1, in Pine River. The PR-B boys and girls both placed second.

The Patriots’ Ben Kostedka was the individual champion for the boys while the Tigers’ Shayna Moore paced the girls’ field.

Boys’ team scores: 1-PL 39; 2-PR-Backus 44, 3-Northland-DR 64

Boy’s Individual Results Jr. High (3,200 meters): 1- Ben Kostecka (PL) 12:47

Pequot Lakes’ results: 5-Dylin Ackerman 13:24; 8-Russ Pierzinski 13:46; 11-Philip Kostecka 14:11; 14-Sam Person 14:50; 17-Sean Ryan 15:28; 18-Ben Golden 15:29; 19-Collin Friberg - 15:41; 20-William Moe - 15:49; 21-Blake Millner 16:09; 22-Ryan Seidl 16:23; 23-Dylan Collins 16:50; 25-Riley Wilson 17:31

PR-B results: 6.-Jordan Orth 13:27; 7- Luke Sechser 13:36; 9-Jacob Butcher 13:54; 10-Torry Hirschey 14:02; 12. Nick Ackerman 14:15; 13. Peter Koering 14:39; 26. Ewan Newbold 17:40; 29. Jarod Birr 19:59

Girls’ junior high team scores: 1-Pequot Lakes 33, 2-PR-Backus 42, 3-Pillager 86

Individual winner (3,200 meters): 1-Shayna Moore (PR-B) 15:04

Pequot Lakes’ results: 4-Rachel Friberg 15:46; 5-Desera Engholm 15:55; 7-Lachlan Larson 16:03; 8-Cassidy Chaney 16:14; 9-Hope Anderson 16:28; 10-Hannah Larock 16:35; 11-Hailey Millner 16:37; 16-Eloise Gitchell 17:37; 21-Mason Fritz 18:36; 30-Naarah Neumann 24:45

PR-B results: 2-Alex Hoopman 15:27; 6-Laura Oats 16:02; 13-Misato Marcum 16:54;[ 20-Emma Templeton 18:17; 22-Michelle Tilbury 19:24; 24-Ashley Nordlund 20:12; 26-Brook Kilchesky 21:39; 27-Rebecca Weber 23:22; 28-Kianna Waltower 24:01; 29-Gracie Rivers 24:02; 31-Audrey Tulenchik 25:15

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889