Weather Forecast


PL boys track will be rebuilding

The Pequot Lakes boys’ track and field team will be rebuilding this season, although the Patriots do have 18 letterwinners returning.

“It will be a rebuilding year,” said Pequot Lakes coach Dave Guenther, whose team finished fourth in the Subsection 6A meet last year. “We will be concentrating on more individual events, especially in the field events with Tyler Tappe, Jon Craig and Kale Wurdeman.”

Letterwinners include seniors Nathan McDonald, Sean Murray, Mikey Ryan and Brady Derksen; juniors Isaac Allen, Jon Craig, Shawn Gerdes, Travis Jacobson, Keegan Johnson, Grant Moe, Eric Olson, Lance Squires, Tyler Tappe and Kale Wurdeman; sophomores Jon Bocklund, Dalton Engholm and Dillon Nichols; and freshman Chase Blaeser.

“Our veteran distance runners like McDonald, Ryan, Murray, Olson and Gerdes, along with some of the younger runners, can make for an interesting season,” Guenther said. “The throwers will be fun to watch like Jacobson, Johnson, and a newcomer Chris Westman.”

Guenter adds that Derksen, Moe and Bocklund also return in the throwing events while the Patriots’ hurdlers primarily consist of Blaser, Wurdemann and Levi Palmer. Sprinting events feature veterans like Allen, Craig, Northenscold and Tappe, along with newcomers Cole Funk and James Waymire. Jumping event participants are Allen, Wurdeman, Goerges, Blaeser and Palmer.

Non-letterwinners are Devon Anderson, Waymire, Funk, Westman, Dustin Northenscold, Hunter Goerges, Dustin Foster, Joe Harrison, Karl Brine-Doyle, Palmer, Tony Fitzer, Marty Fitzer, Trent Midthun, Dillon Meyer, Jacob Tschida, Sam Wallace, C.J. Borleis, Ethan Devries, Max Tangen, Trevor Schultz and Chris Haman.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889