Weather Forecast


Miller, Lane named most valuable players

1 / 2
2 / 2

Juniors Kayla Miller and Vanessa Lane were chosen co-most valuable players at the Pequot Lakes Patriots’ awards banquet.

Miller led the Patriots in scoring at 18.2 points per game, and was the 15th girls in program history to surpass 1,000 career points. She also received the best defensive player award for Pequot Lakes.

Lane was second in scoring at 17.4 points while leading the Patriots in steals with 78 and rebounding with 248 and tied with Jessica Kreitz for top field goal accuracy at 52 percent.

Other awards went to Katie White, the coaches award for leading the team in assists with 92, free-throw percent at 71,1, and 3-point shooting at 40.6 percent. She also averaged 11.6 points.

The co-Patriot and senior co-captains awards went to Kreitz and Abby Palmer. Kreitz averaged 10.5 points. The sixth-player award went to Brittny Bzdok, who averaged 6.4 points, while Haley Wiebolt earned the most improved player after averaging 3.7 points with 38 steals and 83 assists.

The Patriots also added an Enforcer Award, which went to Emilee Buell as coach Jon Dale said she “mixed it up under the basket while battling for rebounds.”

Pequot Lakes finished 19-10 overall after losing to Crookston 76-67 in the Northeast Subsection final. The Patriots also finished second in the Mid-State Conference.

“We had a great season,” coach Dale said. “We played eight games against ranked teams, and we made it to the subsection final for the third straight year.”

Varsity letters were presented to 12 players, along with managers Rosie Mitchell and Ashley Abear. Miller, Lane and White received All-Mid-State Conference honors while Kreitz earned honorable mention. Miller, Lane and Kreitz were each Lake Country Echo athletes of the week during the season.

As a team, the Patriots received the academic gold award for a 3.76 grade-point average while Palmer was an individual academic all-state selection.

The Pequot Lakes junior varsity team, coached by Kate Dale, finished 17-6 overall. Certificate of participation awards for the junior varsity went to Alex Nelson, Jessica Faacks, Caitlin Carkhuff, Barb Miller, Meghan Nelson, Sara Beavens, Christina Jensen and Grace Lee.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889