Weather Forecast


Alexis Lueck crowned Miss Pequot Lakes, Miss Congeniality 2017

Area students participate in Junior Music Festival

A total of 162 students participated in the 34th annual Junior Music Festival on March 1 at Pequot Lakes School.

Established by the National Federation of Music Clubs, the Junior Festival program is for students 18 and younger who study with a qualified teacher as a member of the Minnesota Federation of Music Clubs. Students prepare one piece from a required list of American composers and one of their own choosing.

Students may work toward a gold cup, earning points on the basis of performance. A maximum of 5 points is given for a superior performance and 15 points are required to earn a gold cup, 30 for the second and 45 for the third.

Renee Anderson, Pequot Lakes, is the festival chairperson and the judges were Cathy Taylor, Kayleen Brausen, Andrea Besnett, Chris Nick, Sue Kavanaugh and Michelle Sakrey. Teachers who had students in the festival were Nancy Albertson, Renee Anderson, Lila Clarke, Kara Craine, Kate Davis, Rebecca Gordon, Julie Schreifels, Sue Kavanaugh, Teresa Kingsley, Carolyn Nygard, Megan Sederquist, Sandra Pancoast, Elizabeth Schwanke, Cathy Taylor and Lisa Walker.

Superior ratings

Grace Aadland, Scarlett Anderson, Nathan Anderson, Vanessa Anderson, Amber Adkins, Molly Adkins, Olivia Adkins, Grayson Beard, Alec Belisle, Maria Bell, Lily Birks, Abigail Bjorlo, Bethany Bjorlo, AC Borowicz, Lynne Borowicz, Taylor Borowicz, Megan Buffington, Savanah Butcher, Anne Campion, Ella Chaussee, Kate Chaussee, Cooper Craine, Brant Dabill, Colten Dols, Mackenzie Dondelinger, Ryan Dueth, Bridget Erickson, Austin Evenson, Anna Felthous, Cameron Gearns, Emma Gearns, Madelynn Gibbons, Alycia Goode, Haley Griggs, CaitilinMae Hamilton, Joshua Henkel, Samuel Hardy, Summer Hardy, Dirk Henry, Riley Henry, Megan Hensel, Jordan Higgins, Addison Hillman, Breanna Hines, Emerson Holcomb-Smith, Grace Holcomb-Smith, Emma Hopman, Sadie Hopman, Veronica Hulke, Daniel Irish, Maegan Irish, Lydia Jendro, Elizabeth Joque, Noah Joque, Anna Just, Mikaela Kadolph, Cole Kaneski, Alayna Kavanaugh, Tennyson Kelm, Hannah Kennedy, Hannah Kile, Jed Klang, Josiah Klang, Hannah Kostecka, Alli Krantz, Garrett Krantz, Nick Krantz, Brooke Krivich, Keyahn Kurilla, Amanda Kunde, Hannah Kurtzman, Kate Kurtzman, Jonathan Larson, Joshua Larson, Taylor Larson, Lily Loschko, Rose Loschko, Matthew Majerle, Alexandra Mann, Raleigh Mann, Ben Maurer, Gabe Maurer, Alexis Menghini, Megan Mestuzzi, Luke Meyer, Alli Miska, Mary Moore, Nicholas Moore, Andrew Muesing, Caitlin Murray, Tori Neff, Aliyah Nelson, Sarah Nesheim, Aaron Nibbe, David Nibbe, Jacque Norman, Jennifer North, Danny Olson, Isabelle Olson, Preston Owen, Autumn Paulus, Maren Pelowski, Micah Pence, Adelaide Pierson, Janessa Potocki, Allison Rice, Dean Root, Deanna Root, Milena Roubal, Taylor Ruhl, Thomas Ruhl, Jenna Seeling, Magali Seymour, Taylor Sherack, Macyn Speer, Cole Sposito, Samantha Strong, Hannah Swanson, Cora Tappe, Clayton Taylor, AJ Thompson, Isabel Thompson, James Thompson, Thomas Thompson, Meagan Tollefson, Megan Tschida, Sophia Urbaniak, Nikita Van Heerden, Tyler Van Heerden, Jamie Wallace, Julia Wallace, Madison Welte, Gabrielle Wentzel, Dylan Wheeler, Julia Wheeler, Nick Whiteman, Sara Whiteman, Megan Yeager, Grant Yliniemi and Rylie Young.

Excellent ratings

Brianna Adkins, Zac Birks, Amber Burtard, Greta Harmala, Sam Joque, David Kelm, Cullen Kratochvil, Ella Kratochvil, Gracia Larson, Madison Leas, Quintin Lubke, Olivia Lundgren, Claire Lundstrom, Gunnar Niemeyer, Riley Pelowski, Laura Platt, Ellie Smith and Ethan Strong.

First gold cup

Nathan Anderson, Olivia Adkins, Amber Burtard, Adelaide Pierson, AC Borowicz, Abigail Bjorlo, Madelynn Gibbons, Greta Harmala, Emerson Holcome-Smith, Grace Holcome-Smith, Elizabeth Joque, Tennyson Kelm, Mary Moore, Rose Loshko, David Nibbe, Isabelle Olson, Autumn Paulus, Dean Root, AJ Thompson, Ava Thompson, Nikita VanHeerden, Tyler VanHeerden and Nick Whiteman.

Second gold cup

Maria Bell, Anne Campion, Anna Felthous, Josiah Klang, Nick Krantz, Lily Loshko, Sarah Nesheim, Preston Owen and Rylie Young.

Third gold cup

Hannah Kennedy, Andrew Muesing and Samantha Strong.

Fourth gold cup

Amanda Kunde and Mackenzie Dondelinger.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889