Weather Forecast


Foster resigns from Nisswa City Council

Another Nisswa City Council member has turned in her resignation, bringing the total number of resignations in the past year to three.

Tina Foster submitted her resignation Thursday, April 10, effective immediately. Recent resignations from the five-member council include:

• Foster, April 2014.

• Jan Pierce, February 2014.

• Lenny Hodgson, July 2013.

• Harold Kraus, October 2011.

The council’s regular monthly meeting was Wednesday, April 16, and an agenda item was to accept Foster’s resignation and declare the vacancy. She was elected in 2010 to a first term, which expires at the end of this year.

In a resignation letter, Foster wrote: “I appreciate the opportunity to represent the citizens of Nisswa and am proud to call Nisswa home. I, however, am choosing to relinquish my commitment to being a council person, and focus on my business and family. I ask that you respect my decision and I wish you the best moving forward.”

By phone, Foster said, “Really, truly, what it came down to was me taking stock of what’s going on in my life between now and November (Election Day). I have to pay more attention to where my energy is going.”

She said her oldest daughter is graduating from high school this spring and needs her time, as does her business, Lakes Area Night Out. Foster also said she likely would have received more council assignments after Pierce resigned.

“They’ve got to do this (appoint someone) for one, so they may as well do it for two. There’s quality people stepping up,” she said.

Another agenda item April 16 likely was the appointment to fill Pierce’s council seat. The council declared that vacancy at its March meeting and agreed to accept applications until the April meeting.

Applicants as of Tuesday, April 15, were Don Jacobson, John Ryan, Joe Lanz and Gregg Sellner. The council last month had said it would appoint a two-person committee to interview applicants and make a recommendation. The council also said each candidate would receive five minutes before the full council, which is now three people — Mayor Brian Lehman and council members Gary Johnson and Joe Meyer.

Pierce had served on the council since 2011, when she was appointed to fulfill Kraus’ term. She was elected in 2012 for a term that goes through 2016, so the person appointed in her place will serve through this year. In November, the seat will be on the ballot as a special election for a two-year term.

Johnson’s is the only city seat that will not be on the November ballot.

Pierce had said she resigned because of a moral and philosophical disagreement with the direction city leadership was taking. Hodgson cited personal reasons when he resigned. Kraus said the city’s direction wasn’t in the best interest of future development when he resigned.

Nancy Vogt can be reached at Follow her at and on Twitter @PEJ_Nancy.