Weather Forecast


Nisswa council accepting applications for vacant seat

Nisswa residents have until Wednesday, April 16, to apply to be appointed to a vacant city council seat.

The council on Wednesday, March 19, accepted council member Jan Pierce’s resignation. Council members agreed to accept letters of application for the seat at city hall until their April meeting, when the council will appoint a committee of two council members to interview applicants.

In addition to interviews, applicants will each be allowed five minutes before the full council.

The person appointed will serve through 2014. In November, the seat will be on the ballot as a special election for a two-year term, because Pierce’s term goes through 2016.

Also on the November ballot will be two four-year council terms (seats currently held by Tina Foster and Joe Meyer) as well as the mayor’s seat.

Pierce resigned last month, saying she had a moral and philosophical disagreement with the direction city leadership was taking.

Pierce was appointed in December 2011 to fulfill the term of Harold Kraus, who had resigned his council seat. She was elected in 2012.

Meyer was appointed last fall to fulfill the term of Lenny Hodgson, who had resigned his council seat.

The only council position that won’t be on the ballot in November is Gary Johnson’s seat.