Weather Forecast


Cass County officials sworn in to posts

Cass County Assessor Mark Peterson and Commissioners Jeff Peterson, District 3; Dick Downham, District 5; Bob Kangas, District 2; and Neal Gaalswyk, District 1, were sworn in to their posts Wednesday, Jan. 2, at the Cass County Land Department meeting room in Backus.

Peterson was recently reappointed by the county board to his position as assessor. The commissioners were re-elected to their districts in November. District 4 Commissioner Jim Dowson did not have to run for re-election in 2012.

The oath of office was scheduled to be given by Cass County Auditor-Treasurer Sharon Anderson.

No other additional agenda items were to be considered, according to the Cass County Board agenda.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889