Weather Forecast


Council accepts land donation for rustic park

Pequot Lakes has land for a rustic park.

The council on Tuesday, Oct. 2, accepted a land donation of 64 acres on the east and west sides of the south end of Mayo Lake.

The Park Board foresees a rustic park where people could hike year-round, snowshoe and cross country ski in winter. No motorized vehicles would be allowed.

The land is in both Pequot Lakes and Cass County and is in a conservation easement with the Minnesota Land Trust that restricts land use.

The park would be similar to the Uppgaard Wildlife Management Area in Ideal Township.

Cathy Malecha honored

The council acknowledged former mayor and city council member Cathy Malecha’s many years of service to and accomplishments with the city. Malecha resigned her council position last summer.

Malecha was Sibley Township clerk from 1997-2002, mayor from 2003-08 and council member from 2009-July 2012.

She helped create the first Grand Blast for Pequot Lakes High School seniors and was on the steering committee in 1990-91, was president of the Pequot Lakes Historical Society for five years, was Pequot Lakes Citizen of the Year in 2005, owned and operated two businesses in Pequot Lakes (Lake Region Grocery and Country Corner), and helped revitalize the Jack Pine Center in 2010.

In other business Oct. 2, the council:

• Agreed to close the clerk’s office at city hall Friday, Nov. 23, the day after Thanksgiving.

• Authorized repairs to a fire truck for $12,903.80 for a new pump and pump transmission. Money will come from fire department’s capital outlay carryover fund.

“We want to get another 12 years out of this truck,” said fire chief Tom Nelson said.

• Hired Pete Clement as a maintenance worker.

• Agreed to install a stop sign at West Woodman and Olson streets at Pequot Lakes School.

• Agreed to hold a Step 2 closed grievance meeting with the police union. The council also adjourned into a closed session for police union labor negotiations.

• Made staffing and duty changes in the clerk’s office to reflect workloads.

• Appointed Barbara Merritt and Cindy Roggenkamp to the Economic Development Com-mittee.

• Appointed Wesley Wilson to the Planning Commission.