Weather Forecast


Poetry winner attends fall conference

Katherine Heise, Manningham student poetry winner in the 2012 League of Minnesota Student Contest, attended the League of Minnesota Poets (LOMP) Fall “Poet Laureate Octoberfest” Conference on Saturday, Oct. 13, at Arrowwood Lodge in Baxter.

She read her prize-winning poem, “Bus Ride,” which also won Fourth Honorable Mention in the 2012 National Manningham contest and was published in “The Manningham Poetry Trust - Student Award Winners 2012” chapbook.

Other area winners in the 2012 LOMP Student Manningham Contest included Angela Gudahl, Pequot Lakes; John Swanson, Deerwood; and Madalyn Simpson, Brainerd. Heise attended Brainerd High School last year and listed David Devine as her teacher. Other Minnesota student poets from Golden Valley and St. Paul also received Honorable Mentions in the 2012 National Manningham Student Contest in the Senior Division.

Student poems from 21 states were sent for national competition after they were chosen as winners in their respective state contests.

Student poetry contest rules listed

The League of Minnesota Poets invites all students in grades 6-12 to compete in the 25th annual Manningham Poetry Competition.

There are two divisions: Junior Division (grades 6-8) and Senior Division (grades 9-12). There is no entry fee.

Poems must be original, but may have been published and/or have won previous prizes.

All students in Minnesota attending public, parochial or private schools and those who are homeschooled are eligible. Only one entry per student is allowed.

Students must submit two copies of their poems. On both copies include (in upper left hand corner) the name of the division entered (either Junior or Senior). One copy must also contain in the upper right hand corner, the following: student’s name and complete home address; student’s grade and division (Junior or Senior); name, address and phone number of the school; and the following signed statement: “This is my original work.” Then, student’s signature.

The poem must be typed or computer-generated (no handwritten copies will be accepted and no more than 50 lines long). If the poem continues on more than one page, staple the pages together.

No large print, illustrations, unusual typefaces (gothic, scrip) or colored fonts will be accepted.

Nationally recognized poets judge the contest. The 10 top poems in each division will be selected at the Minnesota state level for submission to the National Manningham Contest. There, they may win cash prizes and publication.

Poems selected at the state level will be published in a chapbook that will be forwarded to the student authors and to participating schools.

Mail entries to: Peter Stein, MN Manningham Poetry Competition Chair, 2029 103rd Ave. N.W., Coon Rapids, MN 55433.

All submissions must be postmarked by Dec. 21.

Denton (Denny) Newman Jr.
I've worked at the Brainerd Dispatch with various duties since Dec. 7, 1983. Starting off as an Ad Designer and currently Director of Audience Development. The Dispatch has been an interesting and challenging place to work. I'm fortunate to have made many friends, both co-workers and customers.
(218) 855-5889