Weather Forecast


Road Crew places 2nd at Morris Invitational

1 / 3
2 / 3
3 / 3

Anthony Philipson, Nick Gravdahl, and Drey Loge all won titles to help the Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew wrestlers finished second at the Morris Invitational on Saturday, Feb. 9.

The Road Crew is scheduled to compete at Section 8AA team event on Saturday, Feb. 16, at Thief River Falls, and in the section individual wrestling on Feb. 22-23, at Fergus Falls.

Kerkoven-Murdock-Sunberg, ranked No. 5 in the state in Class A, was first with 264.5 while the Road Crew were second with 177.

Drey Loge, who is ranked No. 2 in the state, improved to 29-0 in winning his third tournament title this season. Loge won with a pin at 1:50, then earned a 10-0 decision, and defeated Kyle Baker from K-M-S 4-1 to place first at 145 pounds.

Philipson improved to 24-4 overall after finishing first at 106. Philipson had a bye, then a pin at 1:02, and pinned Caleb Collins from K-M-S at 1:25. Nick Gravdahl won the 132 title with a 3-2 victory over Grant Aschemann of Benson. Gravdahl, who finishes the regular season 20-9 overall, won his opening matches with pins in 1:00 and 5:48.

Jared Adkins was pinned to place second to Tyler Jensen of Benson, who is rated No. 7 in the state at 285. Adkins, 23-9 overall, advanced to the final with a bye and a 6-0 decision.

Evan Gravdahl, a talented junior varsity wrestler, lost to the eventual champion 13-8, and then came back to win a third-place match with a pin in 4:02.

“Evan helped contributing to the team with varsity members out and did a good job,” Road Crew coach Travis Hoffarth said of Gravdahl, who is 4-5 overall.

Jace Loge finished third with a 3-1 decision at 138. Loge, 22-12 overall, got a bye before losing to the eventual champion Dillan Johnson of Morris 6-4 in overtime.

Ozzy Miller was pinned by the eventual 152 champion Zach Carlson, who is rated 34-0 and rated No. 2 in the state, in the semifinals. Miller, 14-15 overall, had won his first match with a pin at 1:18 and placed third with a pin at 3:58 against Alexi Bide. Justin Mackenthun won with a pin in 32 seconds, lost 10-7, and placed third with a pin at 2:18 at 182 pounds. He is 15-9 overall.

Dillon Nichols won 4-0, lost his second match, and placed fourth at 170 after losing to Isaac Cloos. Kurt Kent won his first match in 57 seconds, lost 8-1 to the eventual champion in the semifinals, and then lost to place fourth at 220. Kent is 11-17 overall.

Spencer Richards lost his first match 8-5 then came back with pins at 4:08 and 2:50 to place fifth at 113. Richards is 18-9 overall. Kyle Jordan lost his first match, had a bye, and then won with a pin at 2:29 to place fifth at 160. Jordan is 11-16.

Lucus McCoy did not place at 126.

Team scores: 1-K-M-S 264.50, 2-PL/PR-B 177, 3-Morris Area/H/CA 152, 4-Benson 114.50, 5-Fosston-Bagley 105, 6-Breckenridge 85, 7-West Central Area 80.50, 8-Ortonville 71

Road Crew 33, Bemidji 27

On Thursday, Feb. 7, seniors Drey Loge, Kyle Jordan and Kurt Kent won matches to help the Road Crew improve to 14-3 overall with the non-conference win over the Lumberjacks in their final regular season dual meet.

The Road Crew won four of the final five matches to clinch the win against Bemidji, who were looking for redemption after losing to the Road Crew 62-10 last season when they had a number of injuries.

Philipson was taken down just seconds after the whistle. But Philipson came back to rack up 15 points before winning by fall. Richards was ahead 5-3 going into the third period, but lost as his opponent got an escape and a takedown. Richards put up a good fight as he had two near escapes.

Evan Gravdahl was quickly pinned against the Class AAA third-rated Brian Mass. McCoy fought off a pin at the end of the second period, and was pinned at 5:29. Nick Gravdahl lost in the third period while being aggressive for points on a nice reversal,.

Jace Loge trailed 2-1 at the end of the third period. With the crowd really into the contest Loge was getting an escape as time ran out. Drey Loge earned a quick pin, and Ozzy Miller dominated the first two periods of his 152 match, and almost had a pin as time ran out. He found himself on his back in the third, but did prevail. Dillon Nichols had a hard fight, but lost 11-6. Jordan had a nice takedown with 45 seconds remaining to win.

One of the more exciting contests of the night had Mackenthun wrestling Kade Johnson. Mackenthun was put on his back right away, but fought it off and got a reversal. He was behind 4-2 going into the third period but rallied to force overtime. Mackenthun got the takedown to win.

The next two weights were forfeited by Bemidji. Atkins then faced Alan Johnson in a match of No. 10 ranked wrestlers in two classes. Johnson got a takedown at the start of the first period. In the third period, Johnson got an escape, but continued to stall and gave up penalty points to win 3-2.

In junior varsity matches against Bemidji, Justin Neuman lost 3-0, but Road Crew wrestlers winning by fall were Mike Hudak, Dallin Sonenstahl and Joe Harrison. The Road Crew’s Chris Foster won 15-2.

PL/PRB 33, Bemidji 27

106: Anthony Philipson (PL/PRB) pinned Tyler Mass 2:12

113: Tyler O’Beirn (B) dec. Spencer Richards 6-5

120: Brian Mass (B) pinned Evan Gravdahl 1:18

126: Dylon Sauceda (B) Lucas McCoy 5:29

132: Logan Crosby (B) dec. Nick Gravdahl 9-3

138: Crag Mass (B) dec. Jace Loge 2-1

145: Drey Loge pinned Robert Treuer 1:06

152: Ozzy Miller (PL/PRB) dec. Gannon Strain 13-9

160: Alex O’Neal (B) Dillon Nichols 11-6

170: Kyle Jordan (PL/PRB) dec Josh Dryer 4-0

182: Just Mackenthun (PL/PRB) dec. Kade Johnson 8-6

195: Cadel Roeder (PL/PRB) wins by forfeit

220: Kurt Kent (PL/PRB) wins by forfeit

285: Alex Johnson (B) dec. Jared Adkins 3-2

Road Crew clinch Mid-State

The Road Crew defeated Wadena-Deer Creek 64-15 and Detroit Lakes 36-29 on Friday, Feb. 6, to clinch the Mid-State Conference title with a 5-0

Drey Loge won both of his matches to improve to 29-0. Philipson, Richards, Nick Gravdahl, Mackenthun and Adkins also each won twice.

Against W-DC, Philipson opened with a bye, Richards won by fall at 1:05, McCoy was pinned by Triston Godel, Evan Gravdahl was pinned by Sam Waln to tie the match at 12-12.

Jace Loge was tied going into the third period before fighting off a pin, and rallying to win by fall in 4:43, Drey Loge got a quick pin at 1:18, Miller and Jordan both had forfeit wins, Dillon Nichols had three takedowns to beat Isaac Malone 15-2.

Macakenthun won by forfeit at 182, Cadel Roeder lost to Caleb Monson 5-4. Roeder trailed 4-2 going into the third period, but gave up an escape and was taken down in a good matchup.

Kent got a takedown, gave up an escape, and got another takedown for a win at 220. Adkins got a takedown, gave up an escape, then went in for a takedown and a 34-second pin.

Against the Lakers, Philipson dominated Tyler Belleffeuille 8-1, Richards picked up a penalty point to go ahead going into the third period, and then had an escape to win 5-4.

One of the biggest matches of the night had Evan Gravdahl going against Marcus Jaskin at 120. Gravdahl was taken down, and put on his back in the first period, but fought off the pin to win by fall in 3:18.

McCoy was moved up to 126, and did an admirable job against Logan Twigg before getting pinned in the third period. Nick Gravdahl earned a pin at 3:21, Jace Loge lost to Zach Baker by fall in 3:25, and Joe Harrison was pinned to tie the match 18-18.

Drey Loge won 8-3, Miller pinned Brandon Daring at 3:15, Jordan lost to Jeff Gallfus 5-4 and Mackenthun won by fall at 2:35. Roeder was pinned. Jared Adkins was moved down to 220 and won 5-0, and Kurt Kent lost 5-0.