Weather Forecast


Road Crew edged 33-30

The Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew wrestling team lost to United North Central 33-30 in a non-conference match on Thursday, Jan. 17, at Osakis.

The Road Crew, 10-2 overall, is scheduled to face New York Mills on Thursday, Jan. 24, at Pequot Lakes. The Road Crew’s Drey Loge won by major decision at 152 pounds to remain undefeated at 23-0 overall.

“I thought our team as a whole did a very good job,” said Road Crew coach Travis Hoffarth. “The boys wrestled at a high level and the contest could have gone either way.”

UNC won the first match before Spencer Richards came back with a pin at 113. Nate Adkins was behind 4-1 going into the third period before getting a reversal, but still lost 4-3 at 120. Brandon Mager then faced No. 4-rated Jake Malone and was pinned at the end of the second period.

Triston Rubner rallied in the third period with an escape, a takedown and a penalty point to win 5-1 at 132. UNC’s Max Pajari, who is rated No. 8 at 138, was ahead 6-2 going into the third period against Nick Gravdahl. The Road Crew wrestler rallied with two takedowns, but it wasn’t enough in a 8-6 loss. Jace Loge then used a takedown to win 2-0, and Drey Loge scored a 4-0 victory.

In a very close match at 160, Ozzy Miller trailed 4-2 going into the third period, and with five seconds remaining he got his opponent on his back and won with a pin.

Justin Mackenthun later put the Road Crew ahead 24-21 with a 6-0 victory at 182. But Cadel Roeder and Kurt Kent were both pinned to give UNC an insurmountable lead. Jared Adkins did earn a quick pin in the final match for the Road Crew.

The Road Crew is scheduled to face New York Mills on Thursday, Jan. 24, at Pequot Lakes. In the latest Guillotine rankings, Drew Loge moved up to No. 3, Anthony Phillipson is No. 6 and Adkins No. 9.

UNC 33, PL/PRB 30

106: Toby Hintsman (UNC) dec. Isaac Manthei 7-0

113: Spencer Richards (PLPRB) pinned Austin Bacon 3:13

120: Tommy Tellers (UNC) dec. Nate Adkins 4-3

126: Jake Malone (UNC) pinned Brandon Mager 3:50

132: Tristan Rubner (PLPRB) dec. Logan Walz 5-1

138: Max Pajari (UNC) dec. Nick Gravdahl 8-6

145: Jace Loge (PLPRB) dec. Sam Tellers 2-0

152: Drey Loge (PLPRB) dec. Mike Johnson 4-0

160: Ozzy Miller (PLPRB) pinned Wyatt Puttonen 5:55

170: Dylan Huttunen (UNC) pinned Kyle Jordan 5:07

182: Justin Mackenthun dec. Tristan Palmer 6-0

195: Tanner Bacon (UNC) pinned Cadel Roeder 2:34

220: Taylor Carlson (UNC) pinned Kurt Kent 3:51

285: Jared Adkins (PLPRB) pinned Landon Oshie :58