Weather Forecast


Road Crew 6th at Big Bear meet

The Pequot Lakes-Pine River-Backus Road Crew finished sixth out of 33 teams at the Big Bear tournament on Friday and Saturday, Dec. 20-21, in Cass Lake.

Brandon Mager had the Road Crew’s top finish as he placed second at 126 pounds. Anthony Philipson (113) and Nick Gravdahl (152) both finished fourth for the Road Crew while Tristan Rubner (152) and Ozzie Miller (160) were fifth, and Jared Adkins (285) was seventh.

“We had chances, and some very close matches which we lost,” said Road Crew coach Travis Hoffarth. “We only had six wrestlers who placed, but Ozzy Miller and Bandon Mager did wrestle real tough.”

Mager won his first two matches with pins and earned an 11-2 decision. He then defeated Jack Braton of Aitkin 3-0, but lost to Nick Kawi of BG/MR 11-2 in the championship.

Philipson had a bye, a earned 15-0 and 11-2 decisions before losing to Dylan Pundsack of Hutchinson 12-8. Philipson then came back to win 9-3, but lost 6-2 to Jermiah Harper of New York Mills.

Gravdahl won by fall, registered a 4-1 victory and had a pin at 4:22 before losing to Jerod Novak of Aitkin 5-1. Gravdahl then won 5-1, but lost to Travis Deegan of Willmar.

Rubner started with a bye, won with a pin, and had a 6-1 decision before he lost to Nate Merten of Crookston 3-2 and Conner Meyer of Barnsville 4-2 in overtime. To defeated Jake Larkin of West Central Area 9-1 for fifth place.

Miller won his first two matches with pins before losing 12-1. He then came back to win 12-2, but lost to Gannon Stain of Bemidji 12-7 in the fifth-place match.

Adkins was pinned in 26 seconds in his second match. He then lost 1-0 to Jake VenderHeiden of Hutchinson, but came back with a 3-2 win and then a lost to a Roseau wrestler. Adkins bounced back to defeat Joe Tysdal of Fergus Falls 9-1 to place seventh.

Others who competed for the Road Crew were Darion Anderson, who split his first two matches at 103 pounds before losing to Braydon Ortloff of Detroit Lakes. Spencer Richards (120) won easily in his first contest with a pin at 19 seconds, but then lost to Stephen Holecek 9-4. He came back with another pin, but lost to Indi Farris of Bemidji. Evan Gravdahl (132) lost his first match 14-2, won with a bye and then lost 14-4. Dillion Nichols (145) lost his first match 7-1, then won 8-1, and won with a pin before losing 4-0 to Alex Bode of Fosston-Bagley. Joe Harrison (170) lost 6-1, had a bye before losing his third contest. Chris Foster (182) split his first two matches before losing 2-0. Cadel Roeder (220) had two byes before being edged 4-3.

The Road Crew is scheduled to compete at the Park Rapids triangular on Friday, Jan. 3.

Team scores: 1-Hutchinson 199.0, 2-Willmar 170.5, 3-Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena 132.5, 4-Bemidji 124.5, 5-Barnesville 119.0, 6-Pequot Lakes-Pine River-Backus 117.0, 7-Detroit Lakes 113.5, 8-Badger-Greenbush-Middle River 109.5, 9-Bertha-Hewitt-Verndale 105.0, 10-Fergus Falls 104.0, 11-Crookston 102.0, 12-United North Central 101.0, 13-Thief River Falls 100.0, 14-Hibbing 90.0, 15-New York Mills 80.5, 16-MAHACA 74.5, 17-West Central Area 73.0, 18-Crosby-Ironton 68.0, 19-Fosston-Bagley 67.5, 20-Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 65.5, 21-Staples-Motley 64.0, 22-Big Lake 59.0, 23-Aitkin 57.0, 24-Park Rapids 56.0, 25-Roseau 53.0, 26-United Clay-Becker 51.5, 27-Mahnomen-Waubun 51.0, 28-Red Lake County Central 29.0, 29-Robbinsdale Cooper 22.0, 29-Walker-Hackensack-Akeley-Nevis 22.0, 31-Deer River 15.0, 32-Wadena-Deer Creek 9.0, 33-West Marshall 2.

Individual finshes:

106: 1-Caleb Kreitter (Crosby-Ironton)

113: 1-Brian Maas (Bemidji), 4-Anthony Philipson (PL/PR-B)

120: 1-Morgan Fuenffinger (Hibbing)

126: 1-Nick Kaml (Badger-Greenbush-Middle River), 2-Brandon Mager (PL/PR-B)

132: 1-Kyler Votava (Barnesville)

138: 1-Austin Hjelle (Thief River Falls), 5-Tristan Rubner (PL/PR-B)

145: 1-Tone Fuenffinger (Hibbing)

152: 1-Parker Jackson (Detroit Lakes), 4-Nick Gravdahl (PL/PR-B)

160: 1-Blake Bergerson (Crookston), 5-Ozzie Miller (PL/PR-B)

170: 1-Daven Staples (Blackduck/Cass Lake-Bena)

182: 1-Kade Johnson (Bemidji)

195: 1-Abram Aho (Fergus Falls)

220: 1-Dillon Card (BH/V)

285: 1-James Huwe (Detroit Lakes), 7-Jared Adkins (PL/PR-B)