Weather Forecast


Loge named Road Crew's most valuable wrestler

Senior Drey Loge was recently honored as most valuable wrestler at the Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew team banquet.

Loge finished with 207 team points to help the Road Crew advance to the section semifinals. Loge also finished fourth in the state and ends his career with 142-42 record. He also led the Road Crew in pins with 24, and was also the winner of the MWCA Scholarship award (only five were given out at state).

Junior Anthony Philipson, a two-time state qualifier, now has 106 career wins and finished the season with 32 wins. Jared Adkins was third in the section and won 28 matches. Jace Loge had 24 wins, Nick Gravdahl 24, Thriston Rubner 21, Nate Adkins 23, Spencer Richards 21 and Justin Mackenthun 20, and Ozzie Miller 18. Mackenthun also finished third at the section meet.

Other varsity awards were: Drey Loge, most falls with 24; Philipson, with 57 takedowns; Spencer Richards, Rookie of the Year; and Jared Adkins, Most Improved.

The Road Crew finished this season in the Guillotine’s Lean and Mean ranking and won the MWCA Silver Academic Plaque for a GPA of 3.38.

The Road Crew has won 35 matches the past two years and compiled a 10-1 record in Mid-State Conference dual meets. The Road Crew has also won the Mid-State individual tournament the past two years.

Road Crew coach Travis Hoffarth listed some varsity team goals, including winning the academic award, filling all weight classes, place higher in all tournaments, winning the conference title and making the section finals.

Hoffarth also talked about recent success of the program, which includes a winning percentage of 62 percent over the past seven years. He also encouraged the wrestlers to attend off-season camps, including one in Pine River on July 15-18, that includes the staff from the University of Minnesota.

Junior varsity award winners were Justin Neumann with 18 pins, Jace Leabo with 48 most takedowns and the Rookie of the Year was Isaac Manthei, who won some varsity matches. The JV Most Valuable wrestler was Joe Harrison.